We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but room too warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We just had one night in this hotel in April. Great location, superb food, lovely double room with a sea view. However we had no heating on and slept with the window open but still the room was overly warm and stuffy (it was 5 or 6 degrees outside at night!). Unfortunately it prevented me sleeping. The receptionist said that other guests had mentioned the same problem. This is not a problem you expect in a British hotel in April! Having had a good look at the other hotels in the town I would certainly visit Aldburgh again but would not stay at the Brudenell.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thankyou for your review. I am sorry to hear that the tempreture of the room was not right for you this seems most unusual. As the new General Manager I appreciate your feedback and will be investigating to see what has caused the issue. Please do feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this further. I hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel so that you would be happpy to return. Regards Garth Wray 01728452071

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
There are newer reviews for The Brudenell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

896 - 900 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed a the Brudenell Hotel several times and always enjoyed it. This time we had a Superior Sea View Room which was spectacular. The room is huge and tastefully decorated, the view of the sea through the giant bay windows was uninterrupted, the bed is comfortable, and the setee in front of the bay window makes a great place to sit and read and enjoy watching the waves on the shore. A delicious cream tea was icing on the cake. Dinner was tasty - steak cooked just how I like it, and breakfast was relaxed and filling. We loved our stay there and will return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great - the ones described as "superior" are just that. My wife likes t...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Feedback whether good or bad is always appreciated to help us to improve on the products and services which we offer, thank you from all the team for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Hotel, overlooking the beach/sea is a very relaxing place to stay, we had a great room looking out to Sea,even in January the sun rising is a wonderful sight!. the rooms overall were very tastefully decorated & the bathroom also,we stayed over a w/end & had dinner both nights, also very good, but we were a little disappointed with the menu,which had so little to offer by way of Fish/seafood, what we did have was of a very high standard ( no daily specials! does this change in summer months?) a good choice for breakfast & service was also very good. the overall view was a good place to stay for a w/end away as a special treat.
Yes the car parking as mentioned by several reviewers is (1st come etc) a little annoying, but should not put you off staying here. the town itself is a delight to walk around, & the walks which take you along the coast etc are splendid, Only our trip to SouthWold was disappointing, the place seemed a little "tired". would we return, yes, maybe in summer months.

Room Tip: superior rooms overlooking sea/ beach are worth the cost of staying.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpyexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Brudenell we appreciate your feedback. As the new General Mangaer I greatly value any comments regarding your stay that I might be able to use to enhance the experience for our future guests. Both the new head chef and I are really looking forward to improving the menus and restaurant experience so please do keep an eye out for a few changes. i was really pleased to see that overall you had a good experience. please do feel free to contact me should you return and I will happily assist with your parking, the hotel has some dedicated parking areas that may help. Thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked a two night break - Good Friday and Easter Saturday nights. We were in room 113 which overlooked the gardens of the neighbouring council houses and in the distance you could see the marsh/river area. Parking was a nightmare. There are a few spaces at the side of the hotel - these were all full, so the other options are the few garage spaces opposite the hotel (beware if you have a large vehicle - they are tiny) or along the road outside the front of the hotel. We managed to get a space in the garage but found we were almost blocked in the following morning. The room was brightly decorated, spacious and comfortable. There was a roll top bath as well as a good sized shower in the bathroom and upgraded toiletries were provided as well as bathrobes and slippers. The water pressure in the shower wasn't brilliant. There was lots of door banging into the early hours, which started again early in the morning. The lounge area in the hotel is quite small but comfy (if you can find a seat). We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as the menu was too limited for my other half! It was good value though as if you are staying B&B, you can choose 3 courses for £20. Service was very good in the bar/lounge area. There are lots of restaurants, bistros etc to choose from in Aldeburgh, but you do need to book - even in Prezzo. The fish and chips from the shop in the village were really good, even if the queues were always a mile long! We found breakfast a little chaotic with guests having to wait for tables to be cleared and re-set. The food at breakfast was ok but the size of the plates it is served on are far too large. There are lots of lovely shops and a couple of really good deli's in the High Street. We also visited Jimmy's Farm and Southwold.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NileMaiden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Went for one night on spur of the moment on Easter Sunday night. It was terrible weather but we had a lovely comfortable double room with sea view to watch the rain from!

We did not eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment on that. Breakfast ok but would not agree with a previous reviewer that it was magnificent.

A nice touch was the chocolate easter bunny and card left for us in our room from the staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.9 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
670 reviews
0.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,503 reviews
31.9 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
819 reviews
21.6 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
337 reviews
3.7 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: $224 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ostrovok so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing