We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brudenell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I recently stayed one night at this hotel, I booked a superior room overlookong the sea, and it did not disappoint. Spacious, well decorated and comfortable. Robes, slippers and upgraded toiletries included, also complimentary water and morning newspaper. Very good breakfast. We booked an evening meal on the day we arrived, and the only complaint was that the menu was rather limited. My husband chose celearic soup, which lacked seasoning.Apart from that, the rest of the meal was good. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normaedwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    282
    90
    14
    7
See reviews for
154
636
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Everything is very nearby in Aldeburgh but the Brudenell I think has the nicest location. It's right opposite the beach and there is a lovely terrace to sit outside which will be lovely in summer. We went on a blustery, rainy weekend but there was still a super view from the bar and lounge.

We had a sea view room which is worth paying the extra for. Price included a substantial breakfast which is served in the bar area overlooking the beach. Room very nicely decorated, large bathroom although the shower had little water pressure which was a bit disappointing.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast was delicious and a good choice of continental as well as cooked choices, and not just the usual 'full English', there were some nice fish options too.

Would stay there again on another trip. The town is lovely, has a nice high street with some real shops (not just places pandering to tourists) and a good choice of restaurants. Be aware that the prices are quite high as there are a number of people who work in London and have a second home in the area.

We also did a quick trip down the coast to Orford which looks worth another visit with a lovely castle.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view as you're right on the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at The Brudenell in Jan having booked their Romance package...we really enjoyed our stay! we had a room overlooking the sea (massive comfy bed!!) with champers, choc and fruit on arrival...followed by afternoon tea after a lovely stroll around the town then a great evening meal in the restaurant! oh and breakfast in bed the following morning.
Everything was fab, friendly helpful staff and great food....fully recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ul0u1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Do come back and see again soon, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidmarsh, Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I booked the Brudenell because of its location - right on the sea shore. The beach is shingle and spotlessly clean - not a bit of debris in sight. The weather was sunny and the sea like a mill pond so a good start! We arrived early but our room was ready and we were able to check in. After a wander down the front and back through the High Street we decided the best place for chilled glass of Sauvignon Blanc was The Brudenell - lovely terrace by the sea with the sun shining - perfect! The reception staff are friendly and efficient and a couple of requests we made were met with immediate action. Scott (deputy manager) was extremely obliging and made us feel very welcome. Dinner was exceptional - I asked for the sea bream to be changed to salmon whilst keeping the dish the same and this was met with a 'no problem'. The following day we wanted to do a 10 mile run before breakfast and were a little worried we wouldnt make it back by 10am the time breakfast finished - but Scott said he would ensure that would get our breakfast even if we were not back by this time! Fantastic service!
The decor is lovely throughout the hotel and the rooms really comfortable and well appointed with great bathrooms with a separate shower. We asked for an ice bucket to be sent up to our room - it arrived within 5 minutes complete with two glasses! Nothing was too much trouble was our feeling and this place deserves to be the number 1 hotel in Aldeburgh.
Downsides - well if you are on Vodafone you wont get a signal at all but maybe that could also be an upside!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Wow, thank you for your kind words. There really is no better venue for lunch or dinner in Aldeburgh when you want to dine alfresco. We are lucky enough to be situated in one of the most beautiful locations. Stay in touch. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in a twin "Aldeburgh" inland facing room for 1 night March 2012 and had a lovely time! I would thoroughly recommend it if you are looking to be 4* spoilt and don't mind the expense..

The wonderful points are: the room was large, the beds sumptuous and realxing and the bathroom also large with funky tiling (I think it was all renovated in 2010). Everything in tip top, spotless condition. Our view was the town rooftops and the River Alde which was fine - we didn't spend much time gazing out of the window!
We paid £20 extra for the dinner option which was 3 courses par excellence! Fabulous scallops, prawns, sea bass etc etc The poussin looked great as well. We weren't hurried and the service was friendly and informal, not pompous at all.
Breakfast was more fabulous sea food - smoked salmon for Mum and haddock and poached eggs for me. The hotel was so lovely we almost spent more time lolling around reading the papers than outside. The location is perfect - you can ignore the car for the whole weekend and just enjoy Aldeburgh and the sea (including the fanous sea shell) on your doorstep.

Bad points? Absolutely none. We were warned about noise from the lift in the twin room but it didn't trouble us. Very little car parking (about 8 cars) but you can park outside the front as well. A slight shame that the twin rooms are all R Alde facing - it would have been nice to have the option of a sea view had we wanted to pay more.
The only restaurent quibble was the wine prices (pretty extortioanate). I paid £24 for 50cl chablis which arrived in a glass carafe and could have been anything - I guess it might have been nice to see it decanted. Next time I'll order a bottle and take the spare back to the room!
And the afternoon cake and cream came without forks or napkins which we had to request. The most minor-est of shrtfalls.
We are definitely planning to go back again - in warmer weather and taking the family!

Room Tip: You can hear the lift in the twin room but unless you are a super-light sleeper, its not a preoblem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, I have shared them with food and beverage manager who has identifed training. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal and your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.9 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
31.9 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
21.6 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
14.3 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price range (per night): $228 - $342
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing