We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Waves lapping outside your bedroom window!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brudenell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tidmarsh, Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Waves lapping outside your bedroom window!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I booked the Brudenell because of its location - right on the sea shore. The beach is shingle and spotlessly clean - not a bit of debris in sight. The weather was sunny and the sea like a mill pond so a good start! We arrived early but our room was ready and we were able to check in. After a wander down the front and back through the High Street we decided the best place for chilled glass of Sauvignon Blanc was The Brudenell - lovely terrace by the sea with the sun shining - perfect! The reception staff are friendly and efficient and a couple of requests we made were met with immediate action. Scott (deputy manager) was extremely obliging and made us feel very welcome. Dinner was exceptional - I asked for the sea bream to be changed to salmon whilst keeping the dish the same and this was met with a 'no problem'. The following day we wanted to do a 10 mile run before breakfast and were a little worried we wouldnt make it back by 10am the time breakfast finished - but Scott said he would ensure that would get our breakfast even if we were not back by this time! Fantastic service!
The decor is lovely throughout the hotel and the rooms really comfortable and well appointed with great bathrooms with a separate shower. We asked for an ice bucket to be sent up to our room - it arrived within 5 minutes complete with two glasses! Nothing was too much trouble was our feeling and this place deserves to be the number 1 hotel in Aldeburgh.
Downsides - well if you are on Vodafone you wont get a signal at all but maybe that could also be an upside!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Wow, thank you for your kind words. There really is no better venue for lunch or dinner in Aldeburgh when you want to dine alfresco. We are lucky enough to be situated in one of the most beautiful locations. Stay in touch. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    282
    88
    14
    6
See reviews for
153
627
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in a twin "Aldeburgh" inland facing room for 1 night March 2012 and had a lovely time! I would thoroughly recommend it if you are looking to be 4* spoilt and don't mind the expense..

The wonderful points are: the room was large, the beds sumptuous and realxing and the bathroom also large with funky tiling (I think it was all renovated in 2010). Everything in tip top, spotless condition. Our view was the town rooftops and the River Alde which was fine - we didn't spend much time gazing out of the window!
We paid £20 extra for the dinner option which was 3 courses par excellence! Fabulous scallops, prawns, sea bass etc etc The poussin looked great as well. We weren't hurried and the service was friendly and informal, not pompous at all.
Breakfast was more fabulous sea food - smoked salmon for Mum and haddock and poached eggs for me. The hotel was so lovely we almost spent more time lolling around reading the papers than outside. The location is perfect - you can ignore the car for the whole weekend and just enjoy Aldeburgh and the sea (including the fanous sea shell) on your doorstep.

Bad points? Absolutely none. We were warned about noise from the lift in the twin room but it didn't trouble us. Very little car parking (about 8 cars) but you can park outside the front as well. A slight shame that the twin rooms are all R Alde facing - it would have been nice to have the option of a sea view had we wanted to pay more.
The only restaurent quibble was the wine prices (pretty extortioanate). I paid £24 for 50cl chablis which arrived in a glass carafe and could have been anything - I guess it might have been nice to see it decanted. Next time I'll order a bottle and take the spare back to the room!
And the afternoon cake and cream came without forks or napkins which we had to request. The most minor-est of shrtfalls.
We are definitely planning to go back again - in warmer weather and taking the family!

Room Tip: You can hear the lift in the twin room but unless you are a super-light sleeper, its not a preoblem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, I have shared them with food and beverage manager who has identifed training. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal and your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights the room was great with a sea view staff were friendly (if not a little vague) but the food is something else, the menu was changed slightly each night, poussin was succulent and the vegetarian open lasagne very original already planning a return!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Great to hear your planning a second visit. I have shared you comments about the food with the Head Chef, thank you! See you soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algersewebba
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed in the Brudenall in March 2012 on business and i must say i was very impressed. I last stayed here about 10 years ago and it was not up to much, but this time a great improvement. The reception staff were very good and went out their way to help.
The rooms were good, very clean and warm. The internet was a little sporadic but contact could be made in certain rooms/places. The restaurant staff were so professional and polite. Food excellent & service great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algersewebba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed with my other half for a mid week break. Hotel very clean & staff friendly. Great cosy seating to enjoy the views of the beach. No complaints at all, although would not have wished to have paid full price for the inland room we booked, deals here are the way forward. Location great. Had we stayed longer we would have eaten at the hotel as it looked great. Instead went to a favourite restaurant The Lighthouse which you must try. Would recommend hotel & would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizziebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. You must try our restaurant when you are back in Aldeburgh, I look forward to seeing you again next time. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.9 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
31.9 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
14.3 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
3.7 km away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price range (per night): $192 - $306
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing