We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening with friends”
Review of Vane Arms

Vane Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: If you are passionate about great food, look no further! The Vane has been trading as a pub for 200 years, with a beautiful garden enjoying rolling views of the North Yorkshire Moors. Under new ownership as of 2015, we have kept our traditional bar and real ales, whilst renovating the restaurant and creating unique and exciting menus using fresh, locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. We aim to provide customers with fabulous, contemporary food, to be enjoyed in our warm, welcoming country pub.
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This little pub never fails . Food is excellent quality and service great . I have some pickie pesctatarian friends but the menus are getting better for choice . I love fish so happy to try something new . Homemade buns are always delightful and desserts go down a treat . Novel baileys coffee this time which I will have again as loved it ( more baileys than coffee ) . The staff have always been very pleasant . Four of us enjoyed a very good evening so thank you the Vane

Thank cantbebothered22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecs5683, General Manager at Vane Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi there,

Thanks very much for this wonderful review, it's really great to read such positive and detailed feedback, especially about the indulgent baileys coffee!

We love hearing how much customers enjoy visiting and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Went for Sunday lunch yesterday the service was excellent and the food menu choice was great. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hairdresser09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecs5683, General Manager at Vane Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hello there,

Thank you for visiting us for Sunday Lunch and taking the time to write this following review.

We're thrilled to hear how happy you were & hope to see you again soon.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

we called in for a meal and to my surprise the place was clean tidy and the staff very pleasant and polite ,we wear shown to a table and given a menu ,prices where average but right ,the meal was good we paid and left ,we recommend a visit to this venue

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 518pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecs5683, General Manager at Vane Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hello there,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to write a review after!

We're glad to hear you were happy with your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Came for lunch with Dad & step-mum. Greeted by a very friendly young man who showed us to our table but also said we could sit on any other unoccupied table if we preferred. Possible one of the best lunch menus I've come across, plenty of choice & all sounding delicious. Two particular dishes on the Market Menu sounded divine but I knew two courses for lunch would be a bit too much (although I'll know for next time to have a small breakfast so I'm super hungry!). Another polite young lady took our drinks order while we chose. Dad got large pasta with beef, step-mum the cod goujon baguette & I chose the beef baguette. It was nicely presented when it arrived & the roast beef was beautifully rare with just the right amount of horseradish. A nice dressed salad & bowl of skinny fries to accompany for only £7. Amazing value for great food. The others gave their meals a thumbs up too.
Definitely a place I'd come back to & I'd definitely recommend it to others. Great food, great choice, super good staff, nicely decorated, great value & immaculate toilets. Thumbs up all round.

1  Thank LinsH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecs5683, General Manager at Vane Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for visiting us for lunch with your parents and writing such a detailed review!

It's really great to hear such positive feedback regarding so many aspects of your visit and I will pass compliments on to all the staff.

We hope to see you again soon,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Attended here with my partner & another couple . Food was fantastic , the only thing that let it down was the lamb burger my partner ordered. It didn't really match up with the way the other meals were presented . (we visited the Derry a few weeks previous & the burger there was much better ). This is a shame as the other meals were outstanding . Service here was fantastic, staff could not do enough . Will be returning to try Sunday lunch !

1  Thank wilsypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecs5683, General Manager at Vane Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to review us.

We're really glad you thought the food and service were fantastic, however quite disappointed to read the comments on the lamb burger. The reason you may have found it did not "match up" to the other meals is because it is meant to be a simpler yet tasty option on the menu for people who may not fancy the A La Carte meals.
If you wanted more of a pub grub burger, our 8oz beef burger with back bacon, cheddar cheese, onion rings & coleslaw may have suited your partner better, had we know this issue on the day we would have happily offered this alternative.

Thanks again,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vane Arms also viewed

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 
Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Billingham, Stockton-on-Tees
 

Been to Vane Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing