We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
122
91
46
27
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
91
46
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews partridge large bathroom lovely pub stayed two nights evening meal pudding bed and breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2020 via mobile

Lovely evening considering the circumstances! Food and service were brilliant! COVID has made things very difficult so it’s lovely to see a lovely pub in a great little village that is thriving the best it can considering! Thanks again!

Curtis

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank curtiso181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene King, Owner at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2020

Thank you so much for this amazing review. It is so great to hear our guests are still enjoying their visit considering the situation at the moment. We have put some new ways of working here, but its nice to see its not effecting our service. we hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

We stayed here on New Year’s Eve and thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s very old and has lots of character. Our room was old and a good size with a large bathroom. The room had everything you would need however our room had empty hand wash and shower gel so we had none for our stay, this should have been refilled before our arrival.
We went down into the bar for the evening which was nice. There was a band on for the evening but they weren’t the best! Also, we were sat in the quieter area by the fire and we thought it was cold and feel they should have lit the fire as this would have made it really cosy and much warmer.
We would like to return here to explore the area a bit more and we would like to return to this pub and try a different room.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Juliep1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you had a nice visit. We do apologise for the missing shower gel and hand soap, we will ensure this does not happen again. We hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019 via mobile

I booked the Dog and Partridge in Tutbury the evening before Through Trip adviser.

They rang to cancel the next day, citing “plumbing problems”

We then booked a travel lodge

There is a lot of flooding around about now, so I assume maybe linked to that.

It felt disorganised to accept an on-line booking with confirmation email then turn down at short notice.

I have used the restaurant there many times however, and in future, with that particular business will book using the telephone, only.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nickykins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2019

Thank you for your comments - unfortunately the issue with the room in question was only discovered after the booking had been confirmed. We had to cancel your reservation as a last resort as it was clear that the problem could not be fixed in time for check-in. This is a rare occurrence and we hope it does not put you off booking with us again. Regards D&P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2019

Having more than "splashed through" flooded roads around Tutbury, we enjoyed a good one-night stay in ROOM 5 - a spacious twin room with a nice en-suite.

"Ye Olde Dog and Partridge" is, as the name suggests, an old building, with great charm and character. But, you might need to negotiate a rabbit-warren of corridors and starcaises (up and down) to get to your bedroom. So, I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who isn't able to manage stairs.

Donna, Paul and staff were all cheerful and friendly - we felt very welcome. We both enjoyed superbly cooked steaks in the evening.

As other guests have mentioned, the breakfast experience was a slight let-down, with self-serve tea and coffee (the coffee wasn't great to be honest) and you have to use a toaster to make your own toast.

But we would stay there again, as an overnight stop on our way up to visit our daughter and grandsons in Yorkshire.

Room tip: ROOM 5 (twin-room) overlooked the High Street (no double-glazing) but we weren't disturbed by traffic/people noise on a Saturday night.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreweAlexForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

At short notice it was suggested we all went here for an early evening dinner. Turned out to be very good choice having not been here for many many years. We were a party of 7 adults and 3 children booked few hours before,
On arrival we were shown a lovely table arrangement where we were in a secluded section where we could only see the side of one other table, although they were very busy. Time to study great menus while enjoying good pint of draught beer etc. Of course a little while before dinner arrived due to the variety of course. No complaints from anyone, just empty plates, waiting to see the desert menus. Again good selection, enjoyed. Will definitely tell friends and come again.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank Needwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DandPGM, General Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Hi Needwoods. Thank you so much for this fantastic review, we were so pleased to read that you had such a great experience. We hope to see you again in the very near future! Kind regards Donna and Paul, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews