We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drab and food crap.”

The Plough Inn Kidsgrove
Ranked #280 of 570 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Price range: USD 2 - USD 10
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bar/bistro styled pub serving Steaks, sandwiches (chicken tikka, pulled pork, triple cheese) and quality pub classics (cod chips, burgers, lasagne etc). Quiz night on Thursdays and quality live entertainment on Friday. Two cask ales and three craft beers on draft including Brew dog,Brooklyn and Anchor steam Bitter. Erdinger,Leffe,Peroni also on draft.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very disappointed! Empty and food very expensive! Very drab and needs updating with the prices they charge I'm sure it can be done!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Zeaanaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Dreadful food and the owners are even worse! The owners were very argumentative when our friends complained and the food was terrible, could not eat it, would not give it to our dogs! Steer well clear......not value for money at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Me and the lovely wife decided on a night out and heard a lot of people say to go here on a Friday night as they have a live band on and my o my what a great night out we both had would highly recommend to any one Fantastic night out

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We have been eating at the plough regularly for 2 or 3 years now and we have never had a meal here that we haven't enjoyed. The service is friendly, the food is delicious and it is always our 'go to' place for a guaranteed lovely meal.

1  Thank slew84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Only live around the corner , decided after 4 1/2 years tot try it out. No atmosphere whatsoever, inside seriously needs a revamp,bland beyond belief.Tried our best to like the place but just weren't getting it. Food was ok, no better than your average pub,but bistro prices . Never touched my starter ,soup, just ate the bread, normally a eatery wouldn't charge if you were not happy, but yes it stayed on the bill, so very disappointed, had it been good would have come back on Saturday but don't think we will venture there again and can see why the place is empty most nights of the week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank backintown2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isrm1970, Owner at The Plough Inn Kidsgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

"Tried our best to like the place"... No you did not!
it took you 4 and a half years to "try it out" even though you "only live round the corner". What you actually did was visit when we were doing a promotion which offered 20% off your total bill, behaved in an aloof manner and expected to get a free course on top! Your soup, which was smooth vegetable, you did not hardly touch because: "I can taste broccoli, and I don't like broccoli" ! If there are certain vegetables that you do not like, a reasonable person would not order smooth vegetable soup. You sat at a table of your choice right next to the door and complained that you were cold, you did this when other tables were available?! Your criticism of our decor completely contradicts every other review and comment we have ever had, as does your statement that we are empty and lacking in atmosphere!
We are obviously really Disappointed in your review and the fact that it took you four and a half years to "venture" 100 yards from your house. Imagine if you actually liked us! All those wasted years!
It's probably a relief to us both that you will never come here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn Kidsgrove also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Plough Inn Kidsgrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing