We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub carvery I have ever had”
Review of Hawthorns Hotel

Hawthorns Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorns Hotel
Ranked #30 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2017

I'm not a fan of pub carvery meals as the meat and vegetables always seem over-cooked but this was great with lovely, juicy rare roast beef, succulent pork with crackling and vegetables which had not been boiled to death. Friendly staff. Decent real ales too.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank SteveCullen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2017

Perfect location quirky, very helpful and friendly staff. A few repairs on building are needed and a bit of updating of rooms however l had a great stay. And would stay there again and l would recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonGreenslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

a very enjoyable stay , lovely clean and spacious room , breakfast was great on both occasions, we would go back here, simon was very friendly the landlord,, and the chef was , ,a good location as well

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7 , very large room and another 4 beds upstairs
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I had great expectations for The Hawthorne, but soon realised I was to be disappointed. The place has a very tired appearence, and the rooms reflect this. The breakfast was pretty average, but certain items had to be requested, as they weren't readily available (I'm talking toast, eggs, hash Brown's...nothing out of the ordinary). The chefs were quite willing, but surely with a buffet style breakfast, these items shouldn't have to be requested? All in all, not a very enjoyable stay, and suffice to say I'll not be returning.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Simon - the landlord of the Hawthorns is very welcoming. We have stayed here before happily. I arranged for myself and husband and 2 friends to stay - we were there for a 3 day event that we organised and some of the other students stay there too. From a good, hearty breakfast in the morning to returning early evening either for food (great Curry Club on Thursday night) to returning with our large group of students to carry on their magical teachings to the early hours - The Hawthorn was a fantastic place to be. Thank you Simon.

Room Tip: Room 4 was great! Peaceful night sleep
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
0.1 km away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
455 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
312 reviews
0.2 km away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Sheppey Inn
The Sheppey Inn
#1 of 1 in Lower Godney
17 reviews
0.0 km away
Who'd A Thought It Inn
Who'd A Thought It Inn
#41 of 53 in Glastonbury
112 reviews
5.0 km away
The Red Lion West Pennard
The Red Lion West Pennard
#1 of 2 in West Pennard
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorns Hotel

Address: 8 Northload Street, Glastonbury BA6 9JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range: $151 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hawthorns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing