We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and Spacious Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Priory Cottage

Priory Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Priory Cottage
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Priory Cottage
Lounge
Kitchen
lounge
bedroom 1
bathroom
bedroom 2
en suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dunster, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dmace04
Utah
1 review
“Comfortable and Spacious Cottage”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Priory Cottage! The cottage itself is very comfortable... all the rooms are quite spacious and it is well-equipped. Sarah was always very quick to respond to questions prior to and during our stay. Dunster itself is a lovely village and was a perfect spot to be able to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside. We would definitely stay here again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words. We are so pleased that you chose to stay at Priory Cottage and would love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah G
2 reviews
“Fab place to stay....”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Comfortable, well furnished cottage. Close to the town but away from the through traffic. Really well appointed - a holiday cottage with nice china, good wine glasses, and plenty of space plus a teapot, a cafetière and a butter dish!!! (I know, but for me those things make a difference!).

Loved it - and Dunster is gorgeous and Molly loved her daily walks to Dunster Beach,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Those things matter to us too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minion214
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The owner left chocolate and some lovely scones, jam and cream for us to eat upon arrival. Also there was milk in the fridge and various teas and coffee in the cupboard. It was very much appreciated after a long drive. Unfortunately the cottage was quite cold on an evening even though it was July. The gas fire was difficult to light and the central heating didn't come on even though the thermostat clicked to indicate it was cool enough for the heating. The double bed was very soft and uneven. The top bedroom was the nicest and had the most comfortable bed. We managed to park outside the cottage but the space was very tight. Dunster itself was fairly quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Dear Minion 214
Thank you for leaving a review.
I am very sorry that you felt chilly during the evenings and if I'm honest a little disappointed that you didn't call us for the entire week as we could have probably rectified it.
Dunster is generally a hive of activity during the day but very peaceful in the evenings, which some people appreciate, but I understand this is not for everyone.
We are pleased you enjoyed your welcome pack.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLardme...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having never been to Dunster before, I decided to come away for Christmas with my wife, my parents and my two small dogs. I found Priory Cottage and the pictures and reviews looked good so I booked it.

We were not disappointed. Its location is pretty central to Dunster. Walking distance to the castle and town and right beside the church. The church bells ring throughout the night but this did not disturb us whatsoever. You can hear them but we found they were not a problem at all. The area is very quiet. Parking is limited to one private space for a small to medium car outside the cottage. Additional parking is easily found close by and is free.

The cottage is very well presented and comfortable. It has free wifi. Instructions for everything are provided in the house. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans and utensils. As we were there for Christmas, the heating was on and perfectly adequate. It's a very cosy place to be. The cottage is split over 3 floors with a family bathroom on the first floor and an en suite on the second. They were very nicely presented and clean.

Our dogs were very happy in their basket by the fireplace. The area has many walks which we made use of. Walking to Dunster beach takes about 30 minutes or so. It's quite an easy walk and great for the dogs. The area is quite hilly but very picturesque. I would happily revisit Dunster in the future and I'd happily stay in Priory Cottage again.

Amenities in the village are fantastic. We ate at The Luttrell Arms, Dunster Castle Hotel, and Reeves. All excellent. Almost everywhere is dog friendly in the village. Minehead is only a short drive away. The pubs around the village are also very nice. Prices are too bad either.

All in all, we had a relaxing week and enjoyed it immensely. I'd recommend staying here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so pleased you all, including doggies, enjoyed your Christmas stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing