We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Exmoor House(Dunster)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
532
195
53
36
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
195
53
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe secret gardenbar menudunster castlemain restaurantfeature roomlight lunchbar areafour poster bedsuperior roomsuper sundaynooks and cranniessunday lunchnew ownersgreat atmospherebeer gardenpuddingham
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

A stunning, romantic location, This pub exudes charm with lots of nooks and crannies to explore, Great atmosphere in the bars. Found the dinner food not up to scratch, hard meats and some prepared dishes felt they had been hanging around too long. Lunch was good as was the entertainment and the whole weekdend.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Good Evening Mark H

Thank you for taking the time to review your New Years stay with us! It certainly was a great night. We are already taking reservations for this years New Years, so please do let us know if you wish to join us for some amazing entertainment once again.

Sorry that not all of the food quite met the high standards that we strive towards, I shall pass your comments on to the Chef.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Luttrell Arms team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Dunster being a favourite destination to wander around has this ancient hotel adjacent to the Yarm market in the main street. Parking is an issue and nearby public parking had to be used by us. We did however have no problems dropping the bags off for our recent stay. We had a quiet clean spacious room overlooking the Yarn Market , and a view of the castle from another window. Dinner was an occasion with good food well presented with attentive staff. Breakfast was to me a drab affair. All precooked and kept warm not what I was looking forward to. When asked by the reception about our stay - that was a point I raised to little notice the question might just as well have not been asked. An expensive indulgence , must do better . The bar had a log fire burning and disinterested staff trying to ignore customers whilst they got on with insignificant filling a basket with packets of crisps and the like. Find somewhere else

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Yarn Market
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alanw258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Good Evening alanw258

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Luttrell Arms.

So sorry to hear that the stay was a disappointing one, it certainly does not sound like the high standards that we strive to achieve. I will certainly be feeding back your comments to both the Chef about the breakfast, and the Front of House staff.

All comments made by guests should be taken seriously, so I'm sorry to hear the receptionist didn't appear to take your comments on board - again something I will raise with the staff.

If you would like to discuss this is a little more detail, please contact the General Manger at a time convenient to yourselves. We would like to be able to welcome you back in the future, and restore your faith in The Luttrell Arms.

Kind Regards,

The Luttrell Arms team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My husband and I came for a late Sunday lunch- I had stayed in the village a few years ago with my mother and it would have been her birthday today- sadly she died last year. We ordered off the specials menu- roast pork which was good but came without a Yorkshire pudding- my husband only noticed this omission when he looked at the menu again. My smoked haddock chowder was tasty but there was no smoked flavour at all. My husband went to order cheese and biscuits and mentioned the above to the bar staff. They said it would be passed on to the chef but that was the last we heard- unfortunately we had already paid. The plates from the main course were not cleared until the cheese arrived. Overall the service was unprofessional- and I wish we had picked another establishment on this memorial day

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 791venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good Afternoon 791venice,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are so sorry to hear about your mother.
Really sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience when you dined with us. If we had known about the disappointment with your meals we would have happily replaced them for you, we never like guests to leave unsatisfied.
I have passed on the comments to the Head Chef, and also the Front of House team, so that we can work on rectifying these areas.
If you wish to speak to us in a little more detail about this, please do call the hotel directly, otherwise we really hope that we see you again in the future and can restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards,

The Luttrell Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Where to start with the Luttrell Arms? If raw, rustic, countryside/medieval decor is your vibe, then visit this magnificent pub hotel.

We stopped off after a good mooch round Dunster Castle (also well worth a visit) for a pint and some light lunch. The food was delicious - just a couple of sandwiches but you could tell the filling was great quality. The service was attentive, patient, and friendly.

I was particularly taken by the paraphernalia within the stone brick walls of this glorious place; antlers not only adorned the walls but a cluster of them were used for chandeliers. Crossed rifles hung perpendicular to the bar and, on every bench, chair or church pew, heavy-duty patchwork cushions comfortably slumped.

There were pewter tankards and clay drinking cups hanging above the bar, and the ceilings sagged with the weight of time - all in all I'm surprised there wasn't a travelling singer playing a lute in the corner!

The Luttrell Arms was the epitome of cosy, coupled with wonderful food and lovely staff. Make a trip to Dunster and pop in if you can!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good Afternoon Guy A

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to comment on your time with us!

Really pleased to hear that you like our lovely building, it certainly is cosy and atmospheric. Glad that you enjoyed your sandwiches, and hopefully we will see you very soon so that you can try some other tasty items from our menu.

Kind Regards,

The Luttrell Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

This is a great country house hotel, bang in the middle of the historic town of Dunster. The bedroom was spacious and had a decent king size bed, but above all it was warm. There was a comfy lounge and a pleasant restaurant, that served a decent breakfast. I would defiantly stay again. Unfortunately, no historic lift to the second floor.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alandelascelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good Afternoon alandelascelles,

Thank you for your review, and really pleased to hear you had a good stay with us and were able to enjoy the various cosy areas whilst you were here.

Sadly due to the nature of the building we don't have a lift, however please request a ground floor room for your next stay, were there are minimal stairs.

We really hope to see you in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Luttrell Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews