We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage, fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday
A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Bright, modern sitting room with plenty of seating for 4
Comfortable leather sofa which turns into a bed
It's easy to chat to each other from sitting room to kitchen
Everything at hand in the well-equipped kitchen
Space to eat in as well as out
Snuggle up in the double bedroom
Get a great night's sleep
The pretty single bedroom
Sparkling shower room
View of the fabulous Cheddar Gorge from the balcony
Relax by the pond with a good book or glass of wine!
View over the rooftops of Cheddar
Such a lovely setting
The private patio garden
Highcroft at dusk
Walks onto the top of the Gorge start 5 mins from the door
Stroll all the way around Cheddar reservoir
The wild goats in the Gorge are very friendly!
Dog friendly pub serving food, 2 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, 5 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, located in the Gorge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cmcolling...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage, fantastic location”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have an absolutely amazing stay in Highcroft Cottage. The location is absolutely perfect (just a stone's throw from the gorge) and the views from the balcony are stunning.

The garden is beautiful, Loads of outdoor space, including a waterfall, lake (complete with fish to feed) and seating.

The house is fully equipped and well furnished. Great cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your very kind comments - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Highcroft Cottage. We love spending time in the garden - particularly now that the sunnier weather is here - and our fish certainly appreciate the attention they get from our guests! Do hope to see you again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, Delightful, Perfect.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We've just returned from a few days staying in this wonderful cottage. The facilities are excellent and the location couldn't be better. Very comfortable and cosy with magnificent views from the balcony. Our little dog loved it too, it's nice to find somewhere of such quality that is dog-friendly. Cheddar is a great base for exploring the area, Burnham, Weston, Brean, Glastonbury etc. are all around half an hour away. Strolling up the Cliffs in Cheddar dipping in and out of the little shops and tea-rooms is also very enjoyable.
The cottage owners are very helpful and friendly and did their very best to make our stay most enjoyable. I have a strong suspicion we will be returning to Highcroft Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, location and quality of the fitting and fixtures.
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
We are so pleased that you had a good time staying here in lovely Cheddar and little puppy Mattie is absolutely adorable - it would be lovely to see you again and hopefully next time for him to be big enough to have a decent run around the gardens! Many thanks for your comments. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bron B
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wonderful location minutes walk from central Cheddar and walks into the gorge itself. The views up the gorge from the cottage are amazing!
Could not fault amenities and cleanliness of the property, and very comfortable.
We especially enjoyed sitting on the covered verandah enjoying the views.
Great if you are gravelling with your dog as the garden is fully enclosed.
The welcome pack was most appreciated.
We will definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you managed to do plenty of dog-walking! Do hope to welcome you here again at some point in the future. Best wishes Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADepatie
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage & views were amazing. A perfect relaxing mini break in a delightful, comfortable cottage. Perfect accommodation for myself, my 21 yr old autistic son, and 22 yr daughter. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments - we are so pleased that you and your family had a good break and it would be lovely to welcome you all again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice stay with my husband and son. Beds were comfortable and the cottage was well equipped. Loved sitting outside looking at the views and watching the birds. We also enjoyed sitting by the pond and watching the fish and my son enjoyed feeding them. The extras on arrival was very welcome and much appreciated! It was nice to stay in a cottage where the owners had considered what may be needed by the weary traveller! Entertainment choice of dvd's, books or games were excellent for rainy days!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nature
Liked least: Fie alarm
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay here in Cheddar and also getting out and about exploring the local area. It was also very kind of your son to take the time to find out what our mystery fish are! Do hope that, despite having such a long way to travel, you had a safe and smooth journey home and that we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing