We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Byre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre
Sitting Room The Byre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Byre
Sitting Room
The Byre
Kitchen
The Byre
Dining Area
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Local Produce!
Hall
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Antony W
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our third visit to The Byre and as always the reception was second to none, with Charlotte and Nigel going that extra mile to make our stay a memorable one. The home baked lemon sponge cake was delicious and a nice personal touch. We would recommend this accommodation to anyone thinking of visiting Somerset. A+++++

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Y
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place that we would recommend.”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Byre. Charlotte welcomed us and gave us valuable local insight. The building was perfect for us and we were able to use it as a base for adventures out but also a night in as the kitchen had everything we needed. We would most certainly recommend this place to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and new building.
Liked least: Access onto the main road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyOnl...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well rested in a beautifull environment”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After a few days of hectic London we were excited to stay in this beautiful cottage. It's even bigger then it looks in the pictures. We loved the information folder which contains tips for restaurants, pubs and different walks in the area. We took the walk from the cottage through Cheddar Gorge and over the Mendips. Charlotte and Nigel made sure everything was thought of; coffee, tea, even sandwich bags and a great homemade cake! There is also a collection of books and DVDs available. When the sun was shining we could sit on the deck in the beautiful garden. It's a short trip to visit Bath, Wells and Glastonbury which we loved to visit. All in all we loved everything and would like to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lana F
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely place to stay - great accommodation, lovely walks and so close to cheddar gorge. Would definitely stay again if in the area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and felt like a home away from home
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndylou4...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just come back from a wonderful short break at The Byre. We could not fault anything - the owners, Charlotte and Nigel, were perfect hosts and the accommodation was immaculately presented. We would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing