We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable!”

The Circus Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 648 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 19 - USD 29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Small, busy, much admired, family-run restaurant; serving seasonal, locally sourced, freshly cooked food; charming and welcoming staff; sensible and honest prices. Set in a fine Georgian house in Bath's most beautiful position - between The Circus and The Royal Crescent. Voted number 4 in the United Kingdom by The Times "Twenty secret restaurants that foodies love". Bookings advised.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Interesting menu, delicious food, excellent service. "Whim Wham" (an 18th century trifle-like dessert) was particularly wonderful! And so nice that this is a thriving independent restaurant, in a world where much of the competition is from mediocre but glossily-marketed chains. Bravo.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank remj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so very much for "getting it" and giving us such a lovely write up. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Refined and interesting menu with choices for all tastes. Very pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff. Good wine. Recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Judith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for recommending us and for your review. We really appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked the Circus Restaurant for my husband's birthday dinner; everything from the ambiance, attention from the staff, and the food was commendable. The restaurant setting is cozy and perfect for anyone looking for a romantic evening. The staff were warm and extremely welcoming; I mentioned in my online booking that this was for my husband's birthday, they put a little parkling candle on his tart, which we had ordered for dessert. The food overall was delicious! We ordered the seafood Indonesian curry as a starter, the fish of the day and the savoury baklava; all three dishes did not fail to impress the seafood Indonesian curry is especially recommended and their fat chips side deserves a mention as well! Highly recommended and deserves a two thumbs up.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 859ayeshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so very much Ayesha for such a glowing review. We're so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your celebratory dinner with us and thanks again for appraising it so well. Do come again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious food, professional staff, small intimate restaurant. A real treat. Went to the Martini italian restaurant the following evening and were very disappointed. Complete contrast. Should have returned to the Circus. Hopefully there will beca next time.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Eleri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive and kind review of The Circus. We're all really pleased that you enjoyed it and look forward to a next time too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

My partner booked us for an early Monday night supper & we were greeted by friendly, efficient staff. We did wonder if the restaurant would remain a little empty on a Monday in November but it soon filled up & the atmosphere was bubbly but not too noisy. Some unusual dishes were on offer & we had a good selection of well presented, perfectly cooked food. An amazingly smooth, very well aged desert wine wine finished the meal off with style & probably finished me off as well in the fresh air! We had the best of evenings & made the best of memories ....thank you "The Circus"

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

What a lovely review. Thank you very much for describing your evening with us so eloquently and kindly. We really appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Circus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Circus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing