We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
274
15
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews georgian suite chinese suite biscotti pillow menu well stocked mini bar on arrival hosts mary linen napkins silver tray private lounge biscuits wonderful hosts mary's home homemade potato fine china served a delicious breakfast white company toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Even if I didn't love Bath (which I did), I would stay here again just for the room! It was beautiful, comfortable, and had a great view. Mary and Giovanni were very warm and welcoming, and breakfast was wonderful-- served in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your review.
It has already happened several times that our guests fell in love with their suite, with the beautiful views you can enjoy from our big Georgian windows, and decided to spend the whole day indoors!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Giovanni and Mary were attentive hosts and provided excellent customer service; helped answer questions relatively quick before our arrival, attended to all our needs when we arrived, recommended restaurants to eat and scenic walks. They also offered free off street parking which is helpful, especially with limited parking in Bath!

I booked the Chinese suite for two nights for me and my boyfriend who came from San Francisco. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grove Lodge. Mary's home made biscuits were divine, even my fitness fanatic boyfriend finished it and asked for more! The breakfast was delicious, especially the porridge! We think it's the best porridge we've ever had!

The Chinese suite was spacious, clean, and comfortable to stay. The bathroom included all the essential amenities and was spotless. The bed was comfortable and had a selection of pillows to choose from.

We would definitely book again if we came back to Bath. Thank you Giovanni and Mary for making us feel at home!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sau-mingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your review.
It is always a pleasure to share our knowledge of Bath and its surroundings with our guests. This is the big advantage of choosing to come to stay in a smaller independent establishment managed by the owners. You can benefit from the experiences (positive and negative) that only a person who lives locally with connections can share, and this makes you "feel at home" never mind where you are in the world.
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed as a couple for a relaxing break in Bath.

The hotel is well presented with very nicely appointed rooms.

The huge windows and beautiful views are wonderful - it doesn't actually feel like you are in the town itself, rather somewhere more peaceful and idyllic.

The service and breakfast were utterly faultless.

Couldn't be happier.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are very happy that you appreciated the beautiful views from the windows of our suites. This is something that struck us the first time we came to Grove Lodge, so unexpected from London Road before going beyond the hedge at the front of the house.
You can almost see the tow-path along the canal, which takes you to the centre through idyllic surroundings.
We hope to see you on your next visit to Bath.
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We had an absolutely lovely time at Grove Lodge. Giovanni and Mary were incredible hosts. The room was so comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was gourmet - incredible omelettes, parfait and more. We would definitely recommend for everyone looking for a place to stay in Bath. Very pretty 15 minute walk into town along canals and through a park.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Grove Lodge and you appreciated the space and comfort of our suites. There are very few, if any, places to stay in Bath that can provide you with a suite of nearly 55 sq m, appointed with everything you can wish for, from a well-stocked mini-bar to homemade biscuits, from a Bose speaker to air con.
Thank you for recommending Grove Lodge to your friends.
Hope to see you again soon!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I was surprised with a trip to Bath last weekend, and I was lucky to stay at the Grove Lodge. In one word; Beautiful

Mary and Giovanni have nailed service and feel here, and I want to come back very soon!

Giovanni came out straight away to help us with our bags from the car to the hotel, and were quickly offered a glass of fizz as soon as we entered which was just lovely. We were in the Roman Suite, which consisted of a large bedroom and separate living room all tastefully decorated and unbelievably clean. The bed was super comfy (with a pillow menu I might add) and The White Company products for you to enjoy.

Mary brought our breakfast to our room which was utterly delicious, as well as stocking the mini bar with super tasty champagne from Giovanni's home town (which was also very reasonably priced).

The room did look onto the main road, however the double glazing kept all the road noise out so you wouldn't know it.

The house itself is wonderful - I would have loved to have had a nose around the whole property but that might have been a bit inappropriate! We also loved meeting Mimi and Roddy.... i'll let you find out who they are for yourselves!

You can tell Mary and Giovanni actually care if you are having a wonderful time, but not in an obtrusive way which makes all the difference.

Overall, a wonderful wonderful place!!!

Room Tip: It is a little bit out of town, but taxi's cost between £5-£10. Well worth it just to get to stay in the hotel if you ask me!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank miss_outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed the company of our permanent secret "guests", Mimi & Roddy, and that you were so happy with all the comforts and attention you found at Grove Lodge.
It was a pleasure to meet you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews