We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
274
15
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews georgian suite chinese suite biscotti pillow menu well stocked mini bar on arrival hosts mary linen napkins silver tray private lounge biscuits wonderful hosts mary's home homemade potato fine china served a delicious breakfast white company toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We had an absolutely lovely time at Grove Lodge. Giovanni and Mary were incredible hosts. The room was so comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was gourmet - incredible omelettes, parfait and more. We would definitely recommend for everyone looking for a place to stay in Bath. Very pretty 15 minute walk into town along canals and through a park.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Grove Lodge and you appreciated the space and comfort of our suites. There are very few, if any, places to stay in Bath that can provide you with a suite of nearly 55 sq m, appointed with everything you can wish for, from a well-stocked mini-bar to homemade biscuits, from a Bose speaker to air con.
Thank you for recommending Grove Lodge to your friends.
Hope to see you again soon!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I was surprised with a trip to Bath last weekend, and I was lucky to stay at the Grove Lodge. In one word; Beautiful

Mary and Giovanni have nailed service and feel here, and I want to come back very soon!

Giovanni came out straight away to help us with our bags from the car to the hotel, and were quickly offered a glass of fizz as soon as we entered which was just lovely. We were in the Roman Suite, which consisted of a large bedroom and separate living room all tastefully decorated and unbelievably clean. The bed was super comfy (with a pillow menu I might add) and The White Company products for you to enjoy.

Mary brought our breakfast to our room which was utterly delicious, as well as stocking the mini bar with super tasty champagne from Giovanni's home town (which was also very reasonably priced).

The room did look onto the main road, however the double glazing kept all the road noise out so you wouldn't know it.

The house itself is wonderful - I would have loved to have had a nose around the whole property but that might have been a bit inappropriate! We also loved meeting Mimi and Roddy.... i'll let you find out who they are for yourselves!

You can tell Mary and Giovanni actually care if you are having a wonderful time, but not in an obtrusive way which makes all the difference.

Overall, a wonderful wonderful place!!!

Room Tip: It is a little bit out of town, but taxi's cost between £5-£10. Well worth it just to get to stay in the hotel if you ask me!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank miss_outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed the company of our permanent secret "guests", Mimi & Roddy, and that you were so happy with all the comforts and attention you found at Grove Lodge.
It was a pleasure to meet you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at this lovely Georgian house, in the Roman suite.
The rooms are beautifully decorated with lovely wallpaper, blinds and bedding. The bathroom was delightful, full of sunshine in the early morning and with lovely lighting and tiles. The whole suite, bedroom, bathroom and drawing room are all co-ordinated and very luxurious.
Mary and Giovanni provided lots of lovely extra things which you can find for out for yourself! Everything is of the best quality and the breakfasts were amazing! Most beautifully presented, the muesli granola and fruit dish was really delicious but very big! Delicious freshly squeezed fruit juices, and a wonderful cooked selection of the most tasty bacon, sausages and tomatoes. In short, everything was perfect! Thank you both for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are so thankful to the Georgians who built houses with such big windows, catching the light and the views all day long. Even from the comfort of your sofa in your own private lounge, you feel as if you are sitting in a verdant garden. And with a glass of our sparkling fizz in your hands it is even more enjoyable!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

The most wonderful B&B in Bath. Giovanni and Mary are the perfect hosts, with unmatched attention to detail. Let me provide a few examples. Mary's homemade cookies, fudge and biscotti welcomes the weary traveler with local sparkling wine. A trio of pillow selections we affectionately call "Pillows 3 Ways". Giovanni's breakfast served in room is hands down the best we've had at any B&B in Europe. We are planning a return....the sooner the better!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
How very kind of you!
It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to that next visit!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

I stayed with Mary and Giovanni a few weeks ago and had such a wonderful break. I stayed in the Roman suite, which was very spacious, beautifully decorated, and the attention to detail in terms of the furniture, ornaments and design was just incredible. It was also spotlessly clean throughout. Everything was just so unique and carefully thought out. Lots of beautiful paintings and art work around the entire place, including the lobby area and going up the stairs to the suites. The garden view is pretty and very relaxing.

The breakfast was absolutely fantastic – such luxury! Bed extremely comfortable and everything you need in the room and bathroom. Nice touch to have a bowl of fruits and home baked cookies. The shower was so powerful and refreshing!

Mary and Giovanni were very friendly and helpful, and simply excellent hosts. I was given plenty of information on Bath and its history and architecture from the moment I arrived. It’s such a little thing, but I found the map I was given really helpful as I was alone and walked everywhere.

A beautiful, relaxing and brilliantly run place. Thank you both :) Zahraa

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your relaxing stay at Grove Lodge.
We really appreciate that you noticed our paintings and art-work, some are very dear to us because of our Italian painter aunt, Elvia Baiano, while others are by friends, such as Elide Cabassi, an Italian painter living in Moscow.
When you feel you need re-charging, Grove Lodge is the place for you!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews