We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning building and service”
Review of Grove Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grove Lodge
Ranked #3 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed as a couple for a relaxing break in Bath.

The hotel is well presented with very nicely appointed rooms.

The huge windows and beautiful views are wonderful - it doesn't actually feel like you are in the town itself, rather somewhere more peaceful and idyllic.

The service and breakfast were utterly faultless.

Couldn't be happier.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are very happy that you appreciated the beautiful views from the windows of our suites. This is something that struck us the first time we came to Grove Lodge, so unexpected from London Road before going beyond the hedge at the front of the house.
You can almost see the tow-path along the canal, which takes you to the centre through idyllic surroundings.
We hope to see you on your next visit to Bath.
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

We had an absolutely lovely time at Grove Lodge. Giovanni and Mary were incredible hosts. The room was so comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was gourmet - incredible omelettes, parfait and more. We would definitely recommend for everyone looking for a place to stay in Bath. Very pretty 15 minute walk into town along canals and through a park.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Grove Lodge and you appreciated the space and comfort of our suites. There are very few, if any, places to stay in Bath that can provide you with a suite of nearly 55 sq m, appointed with everything you can wish for, from a well-stocked mini-bar to homemade biscuits, from a Bose speaker to air con.
Thank you for recommending Grove Lodge to your friends.
Hope to see you again soon!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I was surprised with a trip to Bath last weekend, and I was lucky to stay at the Grove Lodge. In one word; Beautiful

Mary and Giovanni have nailed service and feel here, and I want to come back very soon!

Giovanni came out straight away to help us with our bags from the car to the hotel, and were quickly offered a glass of fizz as soon as we entered which was just lovely. We were in the Roman Suite, which consisted of a large bedroom and separate living room all tastefully decorated and unbelievably clean. The bed was super comfy (with a pillow menu I might add) and The White Company products for you to enjoy.

Mary brought our breakfast to our room which was utterly delicious, as well as stocking the mini bar with super tasty champagne from Giovanni's home town (which was also very reasonably priced).

The room did look onto the main road, however the double glazing kept all the road noise out so you wouldn't know it.

The house itself is wonderful - I would have loved to have had a nose around the whole property but that might have been a bit inappropriate! We also loved meeting Mimi and Roddy.... i'll let you find out who they are for yourselves!

You can tell Mary and Giovanni actually care if you are having a wonderful time, but not in an obtrusive way which makes all the difference.

Overall, a wonderful wonderful place!!!

Room Tip: It is a little bit out of town, but taxi's cost between £5-£10. Well worth it just to get to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank miss_outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed the company of our permanent secret "guests", Mimi & Roddy, and that you were so happy with all the comforts and attention you found at Grove Lodge.
It was a pleasure to meet you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at this lovely Georgian house, in the Roman suite.
The rooms are beautifully decorated with lovely wallpaper, blinds and bedding. The bathroom was delightful, full of sunshine in the early morning and with lovely lighting and tiles. The whole suite, bedroom, bathroom and drawing room are all co-ordinated and very luxurious.
Mary and Giovanni provided lots of lovely extra things which you can find for out for yourself! Everything is of the best quality and the breakfasts were amazing! Most beautifully presented, the muesli granola and fruit dish was really delicious but very big! Delicious freshly squeezed fruit juices, and a wonderful cooked selection of the most tasty bacon, sausages and tomatoes. In short, everything was perfect! Thank you both for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flowerlady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are so thankful to the Georgians who built houses with such big windows, catching the light and the views all day long. Even from the comfort of your sofa in your own private lounge, you feel as if you are sitting in a verdant garden. And with a glass of our sparkling fizz in your hands it is even more enjoyable!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

The most wonderful B&B in Bath. Giovanni and Mary are the perfect hosts, with unmatched attention to detail. Let me provide a few examples. Mary's homemade cookies, fudge and biscotti welcomes the weary traveler with local sparkling wine. A trio of pillow selections we affectionately call "Pillows 3 Ways". Giovanni's breakfast served in room is hands down the best we've had at any B&B in Europe. We are planning a return....the sooner the better!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni Mary B, Owner at Grove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review.
How very kind of you!
It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to that next visit!
Giovanni & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 km away
The Roseate Villa Bath
3.7 km away
Apsley House Hotel
1.4 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 159 in Bath
563 reviews
3.7 km away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 159 in Bath
556 reviews
2.6 km away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 159 in Bath
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Lodge

Address: 11 Lambridge | on London Road, Bath BA1 6BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $299 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grove Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to invite you to our new home, Grove Lodge, where we have created 3 stunning suites for our guests. Elegant, comfortable and quirky, these suites are the perfect place to stay in Bath. In your suite, as well as a spacious bedroom with a beautiful en-suite bathroom which complements the style of the room, you will enjoy your own private drawing room with all the comforts you could ask for from any luxurious 5-star hotel. Grove Lodge, a Georgian villa built in 1788, combines the traditional with the latest in discreet technology. We have created a unique environment using the finest materials, from Bohemian crystal chandeliers and silk drapes, whimsical wallpaper and velvet sofas, oriental rugs and antique furniture. And not forgetting the most flamboyant colour-palette. Our 3 suites boast many period features, such as original fireplaces, moulded covings and large windows with breathtaking views over the Bath countryside. So, come and try it out for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Grove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing