We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great midweek lunches for £5.95”
Review of Old Down Inn

Old Down Inn
Ranked #93 of 648 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional country pub dating back to 1640 Large function room catering for all occasions Great accommodation Family owned free house Great food beers wines good times
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We saw it was pie week at the pub and decided to go for lunch. It was not pie week as they'd forgotten to take the blackboard away! But the lunch menu was so good we decided to eat anyway. I had liver, bacon, onion gravy & garden peas and it was a great! The mash was of the correct consistency; the peas had taste, the liver was well-cooked; the gravy not too sloppy and the only criticism is that it was hard to find any bacon. But I'd have it again at twice the price! my wife had ham, egg & chips and she enjoyed it too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine M, Owner at Old Down Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

So glad you enjoyed your lunch apologies for blackboard
We do regular specials watch the old down inn Facebook page
Maxine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2018

Just the two of us after a lovely day out. I had the Scampi (16 pieces), chips and peas and my husband had the Turkey and Ham pie, chips and peas. Both meals arrived, well cooked and very hot. Maxine and her team are impeccable both in turn out and their interaction with the clients. The person who said that the Parrot was better behaved than Maxine, Thank you Maxine and staffshould perhaps have ordered a different vegetarian meal or gone to another restaurant where her needs could be met because there is absolutely no fault to be found with The Old Down or its staff.

2  Thank old-relic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine M, Owner at Old Down Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you for your kind review much appreciated
Maxine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Recently visited here with 3 other friends. We all had starters, mains and a couple of puddings between us.
The starters were lovely. As were the mains. Big portions. Great value. Friendly service, staff very approachable.
The puddings were amazing. We were just so full that we had to share. All homemade and so tasty!
Very clean and well kept pub.
Good selection of specials on the blackboard.
Lovely atmosphere.
We will all definitely be returning. We all can’t wait to try more dishes from the menu.

Thank Barb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine M, Owner at Old Down Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments it’s much appreciated
Maxine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Called into the Old Down today for lunch. Lots of people there, even so, our meals arrived quickly. Both of which were well cooked and delicious.
Maxine, the landlady was friendly and helpful as usual.
Great inn for an inexpensive meal. We always enjoy visiting the Old Down and would highly recommend

Thank Lynda101052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine M, Owner at Old Down Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review it’s much appreciated
Maxine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We stayed here after a funeral at nearby Wells. Maxine was so welcoming, and we had a the family room which is two rooms next to each other sharing a bathroom. Both rooms were light and spacious, and dog friendly. Our 12 year old loved the parrot at the front door. A perfect place to stay, and the evening meal and breakfast were both brilliant and very good value. It gets busy on the food front, and the staff were wonderful. Its a large building and very old, yet comfortable and perfect in every way. 40 minutes from Bath in lovely countryside. Has to be on of the best stopovers I have ever had, and we will defintely be back. A real jewel in a crowded market, I can't reccommend the Old Down Inn more highly, superb! On a side note the beers were all in perfect condition and very tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank justmarriedCowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine M, Owner at Old Down Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review it was a pleasure meeting you and your family
Maxine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Down Inn also viewed

 
Radstock, Somerset
 

Been to Old Down Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing