We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was Feezing - Watch out for Mrs. Guy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fourteen Raby Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fourteen Raby Place
Ranked #160 of 194 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room was Feezing - Watch out for Mrs. Guy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

We stayed here during December, 2008 and I have to say the stay was a mixed bag. The good points were that it had a nice decor, location, (although it wasn't the best about a 15 minute walk to the city centre - there were others that were better) and adequate facilities. Price was reasonable, but not that much cheaper. Now on to the bad points and trust me there were quite a few. I hate to whinge about 14 Raby place but I feel I must warn potential customers what they will be paying for. Let me just say I have been around the world and have stayed in countless number of hotels, B&Bs and even hostels. The worst part of the stay was the heating was turned off from about 12am onwards - meaning we got woken up several times because of the cold. We had to put on our ski jackets (yep you heard it right) so we could go back to sleep again. The next day at breakfast, we felt Mrs Guy (the owner) - although pleasing on the outside, was a bit of a character to handle. When I finished pouring the cereal, she immediately came over and put it back on the shelf - perhaps suggesting that one bowl was enough. She had an interesting way of making conversation. She suggested the people down the road, at another guest house (19 Raby I think it was) was so successful because they were drug dealers or something. We could not believe what we heard!

Anyway, we just thought it was an interesting encounter to share with everyone. You can certainly find better places to stay in Bath.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Mrs. Guy and the Lack of Heating
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CoolCyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

After reserving a room in advance, Mrs Guy called us late morning on our arrival date, to inform us that she had double booked the room. She was incredibly apologetic, and had arranged for accommodation in another B&B close by. Mrs Guy had offered to pay the difference in rates at the new place (quoted as £10 more expensive), and we initially accepted the offer. We were a little surprised to find that the second B&B's website quoted similar rates to 14 RP.

We had chosen this hotel because it was something a bit different to the usual British B&B (modern art, organic breakfast etc.). The alternative to which we were directed was a quaint, traditional British B&B, but not what we were looking for at all. Our stay was booked as a stopover on a long journey, and as, by this point we were two hours from home, we cut our losses and got back in the car!

We did wonder why our booking was redirected as opposed to our fellow double-booked customer, and thought that maybe it was as a result of our one-night stay being less lucrative than a longer-staying guest who may have presented at the last minute, but we have no evidence for this. I note that another TripAdvisor contributor also reported a changed booking following a prior arrangement with Mrs Guy due to a longer-staying booking coming up.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank abcdEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

Great location. Beautiful listed Georgian terrace. Room of a high standard. The walls are covered in countless works of art, mostly modern. For the price this has to be highly recommended. We had a great breakfast: full English, cereal, toast, tea, coffee, fruit etc.

The owner was very helpful and pleasant and not like the description given by some on this site. Message received??

  • Liked — the quality of the environment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank george-nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

I very much enjoyed the night I spent at 14 Raby Place. My room was a huge single with a very comfortable bed, outfitted with a piano, TV, bookcases and a very attractive mantle. The room's best feature was the very tall window looking over the backyard garden, with shutters you could close for privacy. The bath was up the hall, but that wasn't an issue for me.

I had to leave early the next morning for a tour of Bath and the Cotswolds, so I didn't have a chance to eat one of the home cooked, organic breakfasts that other people rave about. But Ms. Guy kindly opened the breakfast room early for me. Since no other guests were up yet, she and I had a chance to talk a little over yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit salad (Devon strawberries, if I remember correctly) and coffee. It was a perfect start to a busy day.

You can't beat the price and convenience to the center of Bath - a lovely walk either over the Pultney Bridge (most direct) or Parade Bridge (best view).

  • Liked — Comfort and quiet of room, the owner, proximity to center of Bath
  • Disliked — Bathroom was up one flight of stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadville, PA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

14 Raby Place is a B&B within walking distance of most everything in Bath. We stayed there twice on the same trip...once at the beginning and then a month later on our last night in England (we had to drop the rental car off in Bath). Our first visit was wonderful. We had the top floor front room. What a gorgeous room, with a spectacular view. Towel warmers, extremely comfy bed, in-room coffee service. Breakfast was excellent and Mrs. Guy was very entertaining. Yes, she is very politically minded, but fortunately her views matched ours. She also likes Shostakovich, which is not what one would expect an elderly English lady to listen to. Our return visit was not as nice. The place wasn't as clean as on our previous visit. We had a smaller, back room, which was fine. The breakfast was again very good. She can be very brusque, but she gave us her personal parking spot.

  • Liked — The location and the beautiful house
  • Disliked — A bit difficult to find the first time
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 33 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
1.3 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 194 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.5 km away
Chestnuts House
Chestnuts House
#4 of 194 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
11.5 km away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourteen Raby Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourteen Raby Place

Property: Fourteen Raby Place
Address: 14 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Fourteen Raby Place Hotel Bath
14 Raby Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing