We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central accommodation for Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgar Townhouse
Ranked #37 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The staff made us feel welcome right from the start. The lady at reception greeted us in a very friendly manner and freely volunteered to help lug bags up several flights of steps (that doesn't happen very often). The room was small but clean and only has a double bed but we were warned of that when we made the booking. We were lucky because there was a lovely view out of the window over the sportsfield and the town climbing into the hills beyond. The breakfast was excellent. All in all, a good place to stay near everything in Bath, not posh but very decent accommodation for what we paid. WiFi worked OK for us and was appreciated. Only downside is that you do need to be able to climb stairs. I would imagine that the staff here would do their best to reserve a suitable room for anyone who can't do stairs as they were so helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed in room 17 it is a lower ground floor 1 flight of stair down, we were offered help with our bags and felt welcome and comfortable for the duration of our stay.
We chose this for our weeked in Bath because we wanted a town centre location and this fitted the bill.
It was not the cheapest but location was great.
We enjoyed our Full English breakfast, all the usual bacon, sausages, baked beans, eggs, mushrooms and fried tomatoes, with help yourself cereals juice and tea and coffee.
I could not get on their wifi network, but never bothed to ask if there was a problem.
In short had a great stay and would go back there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back offer a quite stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sijulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. We chose a room on the top floor and were promptly assisted witrh our luggage. The room was small with only glimpses of the area visible. One side of the bed felt like a couple of springs were about to come through the sheets and the other side was sloping towards the outside creating a rolling out of bed feeling. WiFi is an advertised feature but insufficient signal to work in our room.
On the positive side, the room was spotless and everything worked.
Dining room also spotless with great service from the staff and a nice selection of food on offer for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I would recommend this B&B, as it is situated close to the city centre. It's an easy walk to the main attractions, just under 10 minutes. Even despite the closeness to the city centre, it's located in a quiet peaceful - and historical - side street, so you will have a nice peaceful sleep.

The staff were very friendly and helpful: they have a wealth of knowledge on the city's attractions, including out of town locations such as Stonehenge. It's close to the River Avon as well - it is worth going on the boat trips.

The breakfast was wonderful! Full English breakfast, which was very delicious and filling, and they do have vegetarian options as well.

The only thing is, the B&B is a 5 storey building, and there are NO lifts. My room was on the fourth floor, so you do need to be reasonably fit to be able to climb up the stairs!

All in all though, it's definitely worth staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pisceanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

stayed a the top floor in a double room with bathroom and paid ~75 pounds per night.

The room was neat and at breakfast there was a menu to choose from, very nice.

Overall had a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.3 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 32 in Bath
1,460 reviews
3 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 159 in Bath
826 reviews
0.6 km away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgar Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgar Townhouse

Address: 64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $140 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgar Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iption: The Edgar Townhouse is a small friendly guest house located on Great Pulteney Street in the centre of Bath. The house was designed in the classical Georgian style by the architect Thomas Baldwin, and lies on the former estate of Sir William Johnston Pulteney who developed the land and gave his name to the street.The Edgar Townhouse is named after King Edgar who was crowned the first King of England. Edgar was crowned in Saxon monastery, which was destroyed and is now replaced by the abbey, which is a short walk from the guesthouse.When UNESCO designated Bath a World Heritage site put Bath on a par architecturally with the great beauties of Florence and Rome.Great Pulteney Street one of Europe's most magnificent avenues designed by Thomas Baldwin. At one end of Great Pulteney Street is Pulteney Bridge, which was modelled by Robert Adam on the famous Ponte Vecchio in Florence. Walk over this bridge and you are in the centre of Bath, close to the Roman Baths, the pump rooms and the famous Royal Crescent and Victoria Park.Bath is a city of all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Edgar Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgar Townhouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing