We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, wonderful accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pulteney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pulteney House
Ranked #22 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, wonderful accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed here for a night while visiting Bath.

The rooms are cozy and the rate was one of the best we found while traveling the UK.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the house is off the street enough that I slept like a baby the whole night.

The hotel is a short walk to the attractions found in Bath (Roman Baths, etc).

Breakfast was wonderful and the staff who served us were attentive and kept our coffee and tea warm and full.

I would definitely recommend this quaint B&B to anyone visiting Bath for business or entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMichEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    156
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
112
190
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were very happy with Pulteney House. We had a friendly welcome and the room was comfortable with plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits which were re-stocked during our stay. There were no nasty surprises with the shower and we were able to control the heating and ventilation in the room. We had plenty of storage space too. Although it was on a fairly main road it was quiet at night. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide selection and the staff were very pleasent and obliging. The house and gardens are attractive but one important reason for choosing to stay here is that you can park your car off road and walk into the city centre. It's also close to the canal if you fancy a stroll along the tow path. We stayed in the main house so can't comment on the annex. The owners were very friendly and easy going which led to a relaxed atmosphere. They were happy for us to leave our car for a while after booking out so we were able to take a last trip into Bath. There was also a comfortable lounge with a computer which we were able to use. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gill2001c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Having now read all the reviews for this establishment I’m not surprised at the brevity of the positive comments and the detail of the negative comments. I booked two rooms for one night for myself, my wife and our two daughters, these rooms were in the annex. I would agree with all the comments regarding the annex, small, noisy, stifling, poorly fitted, cheap furniture and fittings, badly designed en suite (plumbing and tiling is not to the standard a good builder would expect, and a ‘combi’ boiler should not be fitted in a hotel bathroom). The beds were uncomfortable, linen was suspect (not ironed and certainly lacking freshness), carpet unclean, blinds broken, TV faulty, tea making facilities poor, no Wi-Fi, fixed hairdryer with no mirror, and the room claimed to be a double but was more suitable as a single. Our room actually contained one double bed and a broken single bed making the room so cramped that there was no space for a suitcase or overnight bag without blocking the bathroom doorway. My daughters’ bedroom was marginally better but still lacking the specification expected at the price charged. Personally I like trains but I can understand those who do not want to listen to them in the early hours.
Considering the price paid for the overnight stay I don’t expect to have my breakfast in a small dark subterranean dining room. The breakfast was passable but poor on presentation and perhaps had not changed in the 35 years that the current owner/manager and his parents-in-law have been running this establishment. The culinary world has moved on and expectations are considerably changed, the breakfast menu and quality of the food on offer is well below standard. A large slab of uncooked ‘fishy smelling’ salmon with overcooked eggs dolloped on a plate is not acceptable. Even the toast was made from cheap pre-sliced processed bread. Sadly the staff whilst polite and helpful appeared to lack training; considering they tried their best and given the resources available (and pay) they should be commended.
To conclude, would I stay here again? No Would I recommend the Pultney Hotel? No. I do feel that given the location, a bit of investment and staff/owner training this could be a delightful place to stay in a beautiful city. If the current owners are not prepared to invest then perhaps it is time to sell.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had two nights here and the only thing we could complain about was the price.
Nice big room, breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arteta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We (two couples, one from London, one from Sydney) stayed at the Pulteney House Hotel on the 1st Oct. The hotel has character, offers B&B, (limited) parking, and some nice garden furniture to sit out in their gardens. The gardens (at least on 1st Oct, start of the English mini heatwave) was a sun trap. At the end of our day in Bath we opened a chilled bottle of white wine and had a glass each in their garden enjoying the Autumnal sun before chanigng to got out for hte evening. Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed, we were asled about our visit and offered advice on visiting Bath, neither inquiry nor advice was intrusive, just nice people being pleasant, offering help and ensuring we had a nice time there. We had two rooms in their annexe; one twin on the ground froor, the other, their four poster room, on the first floor of the annexe. Both were en-suite rooms, clean, warm and comfortable with tea making facilities and Freeview TV. The choice at breakfast was comprehensive and very nice; their menu offered the usual variety of eggs, plus kippers, porridge, the ubiquitous full English, fruit juices, tinned fruits in syrup, yoghurts etc.... all offered with loads of hot toast with the usual portion packs of butter and jams. The cooked breakfasts were served by the hotel's young and attentive staff. The breakfast experience was fairly typical of small English B&Bs but no bad thing for all that. If it's importannt to you and you're looking for an all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet then maybe it would be better going to a Hilton, Holiday Inn or the like. To sum up, the hotel was very pleasant, only a short ten minute walk to the river, the Rec, and the Parade Gardens, so very close to central Bath. Upon checking out the next day we were offered the opportunity to leave our car and luggage at the hotel whilst we continued to visit Bath. That was nice touch. In summary this was a pleasnt experience and good value; we would recommend this hotel to anyone going to visit Bath or the surrounding areas for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilier3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#43 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.3 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
3.2 km away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 160 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.4 km away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulteney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulteney House

Property: Pulteney House
Address: 14 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price range (per night): $156 - $276
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulteney House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pulteney House is one of the finest guest houses in Bath, providing some of the very best accommodation in Bath city centre. Pulteney House is a large, privately owned Victorian house set in it’s own beautiful gardens. We offer a uniquely restful environment in the very heart of the city of Bath. The guest house is a short walk from Bath city centre giving our customers excellent access to all the tourist and business facilities in Bath. We have a large secure car park with CCTV surveillance for our guests' cars, so once parked you can forget worrying about your car; Free Fibre broadband use in all rooms (Wi-Fi). Computer for the use of Hotel guests free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing