We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2017

I picked the hotel due to its location across from the rail station.
What a gem. A charming well appointed old hotel. Nice room which cannot long have been decorated, snug bar and a lovely restaurant serving splendid food. Not least the staff who were without exception friendly and helpful.My wife and I will certainly be returning for another stay in the future. Recommended.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms would be toward the top but a little road noise is not intrusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happykapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Many thanks for your review and awarding us 5 stars.

It was very nice of you to describe us as a “gem” and to highlight the aspects of your stay which you enjoyed so much.

Most importantly we are delighted to note that you will be returning for another stay with us and thank you also for recommending us to others.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We arrived for a two night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to see the wonderful sights of Bath. We couldn't have chosen a more friendly place, so conveniently situated with spotlessly clean rooms and lots of old fashioned charm. The whole hotel appears to have been nicely decorated recently and the bathrooms completely refitted with modern suites, so although the Royal is over 150 years old it doesn't really show its age other than a few creaking floor boards! The only minor problem is that the lift is very small, and with an awkward staircase for a chap with a walking stick, it was difficult to manoeuvre large suitcases up and down.

The Hop on Hop off buses stop directly outside the Hotel and the centre of the city is only a short stroll away with the Railway station just opposite. Although we travelled by car, we didn't need it at all! It stayed in the small Hotel Car park throughout our visit.

The restaurant was first class with delicious breakfasts and a wonderful choice of Menu for dinner offering superb quality and excellent service. The wine list was pretty good as well and not at all expensive when compared to similar establishments.

We were so impressed with the Royal Hotel that we are now planning to return next year with a group of friends for a slightly longer holiday. We can highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms are better on Floors one and two, and the rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BigTonyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review and awarding us 5 stars following your wedding anniversary celebratory visit to Bath and The Royal.

I am delighted that you found the atmosphere friendly and that the accommodation, food and service were enjoyable.

It was good of you to highlight the quality of our wine list and great value which it offers.

We very much look forward to seeing you when you return with a group of friends for a longer holiday and am grateful to you for also recommending us to others.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Lovely hotel right across from railway station. Comfortable beds, clean and excellent meals. The only down was the heat in the room even with radiators off. We had to leave the windows open overnight which meant lack of sleep due to the noise of the traffic. However, we did not alert reception as we did not wish to complain. On hindsight we should have asked reception to help. Overall I would recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Alert reception if you have any issues. The staff were excellent and very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Many thanks for your review and for awarding us 5 stars

I am sorry that you found the room a little too hot because of the warm weather at the time of your visit and also regret that you did not sleep well as you would have hoped.

Notwithstanding this I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay sufficiently well to recommend us to others and hopefully we can see you again soon.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Stayed at this hotel recently, and loved it! Train station just opposite, great central location to everything hotel clean comfy and fab! Staff friendly helpful nothing too much trouble. Had breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant and food was hot and tasty. Had a spa break which included spa tickets to the thermae spa, and the hotel provided a champagne cream tea in the bar. Everyone from the general manager, duty manager reception and bar staff made you feel welcome, I would return here again, and recommend to everyone. Thanks for such a lovely stay and keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Many thanks for your review and awarding us 5 stars

I particularly appreciate your compliments regarding our friendly staff and the quality of our food.

I was also very pleased that you stayed on our spa break which is our most popular promotion and we feel that it offers the best value of any spa break in Bath.

Last but not least thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We recently stayed at the Royal Hotel in Bath for a short mid week break. We chose it for its proximity to the railway station as we were travelling by train, as well as being a short walk from the main attractions in Bath. The hotel is beautifully decorated, very attentive and friendly staff. Room was clean and beds very comfortable. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay at the Royal Hotel. JRun

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Many thanks for your review and awarding us 5 stars following your midweek short break with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and a big thank you for recommending us to others who may be visiting Bath.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,505 reviews
0.9 km away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
3 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $202 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing