We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”
Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bailbrook Lodge
Ranked #26 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Booked a weekend deal on Travelzoo met friends there, lovely staff, great breakfast. We were on the top floor and found the shower to be a bit lacking in power but our friends in the garden suite downstairs said their shower was great so would just advise ask not for attic rooms, otherwise really lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor, poor water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Many thanks for your review and awarding us 5 stars.

A particular thank you for your compliments regarding our “lovely staff” and awarding winning breakfast.

I am sorry that you found the water pressure not as good as it should have been on the top floor and this has now been dealt with.

We look forward to seeing you again on a future occasion.

Jacqui Dudzik
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We have just returned from a short stay at Bailbrook Lodge. We had two night in a double room. The hotel is very traditional and not 'grand' as such but it is clean and very comfortable. The rooms have everything needed with comfortable beds and good quality bedding. The staff are lovely and could not do enough for us. The breakfasts were superb and arguably the best we have had in any hotel. My only gripe was that the afternoon tea was very basic and disappointing but that can be forgiven as the rest of our stay was lovely. The location is ideal and the bus into Bath is less than 5 mins walk and they run every 15 mins. We got a taxi back at the cost of £6.90. There is free parking at the hotel. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Motherted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review and awarding us 5 star.

I am delighted to read that you found the bed comfortable and our staff helpful

I was particularly pleased to note that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast and you felt it rated the best you have had in any hotel.

On the other hand I am surprised that you were disappointed with the afternoon tea given that it includes a selection of sandwiches, scones, clotted cream and jam.

Last but not least I am delighted that you will be returning to us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jacqui Dudzik
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Nice service, especially the extras when we told them in advance that it was our anniversary. The breakfast and ambience was very nice and the location was great for visiting Bath - there's a bus stop over the road and it's only a 10-minute ride to the city centre. The only real negative was the bed was a little small for us as we're both quite tall, and we suggest you ask in advance for a room with a shower if you want one, as we just had a bath. If your wi-fi doesn't work upstairs, go downstairs, connect there and then take your device back upstairs. The signal should follow you. It worked for us.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BenandLiz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us on the occasion of your anniversary.

I regret you found the bed a little small albeit it is the standard size for double beds in hotels. You may wish to know for a future occasion that our four poster beds are considerably larger, so should you decide to return to us please consider a four poster bedroom.

With regards to the choice of bath or shower whenever we get a direct telephone enquiry we always ask the guest if they would like a bath or shower but unfortunately when bookings are received via an external agency unless they have asked us this question we are sometimes unable to meet our guests preferences.

Notwithstanding this I do hope we can look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jacqui Dudzik
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Bailbrook lodge was stunning, beautiful inside and out. Rooms have all different names which was different. Very comfortable great amenities. Easywalk down drive way to the bus into Bath. Only down side was a double bed not a queen size and a bit too soft. Breakfast was delicious with lots to choose from even champagne.
Overall a great place

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37Pixie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review and in particular for your compliments regarding our award winning breakfast.

I regret that you found the mattress a little soft. The choice of mattress – soft, medium, hard – is one of the most difficult decisions for hoteliers as we appreciate that people’s choice do vary. We purchase mattresses from a leading hotel supplier which are medium to hard which appear to satisfy most guests but I regret this was not so in your case

Notwithstanding this I do hope we can look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jacqui Dudzik
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We booked this Hotel as part of a package through Travelzoo. Never sure quite how good 'package' accomodation will be we were truly and pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Bailbrook Lodge.
What was obviously once a "Wealthy Georgian Gentleman's" house, considerable care has been taken to retain as much of its style and decor as possible. There is very good off-street parking and direct entrance into a welcoming and efficient reception. The bedroom was 'excellent' and the twin beds warm and cosy. Afternoon Tea in the Lounge was just pefect. The Breakfast menu offers a wide selection and as it is a 'small' hotel everyone's meal is freshly cooked. Although they do not serve evening meals there is a wide range of eating places within easy reach - and the staff will happily cook you a light snack if you prefer. Speaking of staff - they were all cheerful and helpful (particularly John the night manager).
A most enjoyable stay and one we have started telling our friends about in the hope they will go and experience it for themselves.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Many thanks for awarding us 5 stars and thank you also very much for your lovely review highlighting the attractions which we offer at Bailbrook Lodge.

I was very pleased to read how friendly you found our staff and in particular John, who is one of our key employees.

Last but not least I am delighted to note that you will be telling your friends in the hope that they will visit us at Bailbrook Lodge.


Jacqui Dudzik
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.8 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#14 of 32 in Bath
1,250 reviews
0.2 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
4.6 km away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#18 of 159 in Bath
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 159 in Bath
826 reviews
10.9 km away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
560 reviews
3.5 km away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 159 in Bath
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Address: 35-37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $145 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing