We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel was actually quite nice, very close to the train station and bus stop. I truly enjoyed my stay I paid about 60 quid and go the service I paid for. The staff were friendly. The location is perfect. I did not have breakfast so cannot judge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngSaudiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    491
    178
    57
    25
See reviews for
197
638
59
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The Abbey is centrally situated in Bath a short walk from the river, the shopping area, the church and, most importantly from the Manvers Street car park. The latter is not cheap at £13 a day but is very convenient for the hotel.

The hotel itself is a typically elegant former townhouse. The decor and furniture is a little dated but comfortable though I did find our bed a little too firm when we had to swop rooms (because of a booking error on my part). For the most part the rooms were quiet though we were next to a fire door on our second night which banged when opened and closed. The staff, at our request put a notice on the door asking guests to close the door quietly. When the hotel next has a refit this could be attended to.

The outstanding feature of the hotel was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff.

Overall we were delighted with our stay. Next time we may come by train as the statio is nt far from the hotel. If you come by car and use a satnav make sure the sofwareis up to date

The food was very good

Room Tip: Chose a room at the rear away from a fire door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed in the Best Western on a couple of occassions with work, staying for a week at a time. Whilst being perfectly located, the hotel is in serious need of a face-lift. I would recommend not to stay in any of the rooms out the front unless you are a heavy sleeper, noise from the nearby pubs and clubs will keep you up. The bathrooms are basic with temperature gauge on the showers not functioning properly. Great moroccon and nepalese restaurants within a stone throw alongside free internet still makes this a convenienant stay.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the back of the hotel for some peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We live in Australia,come across the big pond every three or four years,and my favourate place would be bath.The Best Western is central,the food is great and you could not find nicer people to serve you. The overall experience was perfect

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregg f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uttoxeter
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed in bath in the summer for a couple of nights, couldn't complain about anything.
Clean room with large bathroom. Hotel in a very good position all the major attractions
only a short walk away. No car park at the hotel but you can park just around the corner
next to the police station. Well situated for the train station a short walk away.
I think the hotel is about ready for some redecoration it looks tired in some places.
All in all not bad for what we paid.
Tony&Mandy

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.5 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
2.7 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price range (per night): $149 - $438
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing