We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”

Review of The Wilderness

The Wilderness near Bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wilderness near Bath
The Inglenook Lounge Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
The Wilderness near Bath
The Inglenook Lounge
Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
TV Lounge
Dining room seats 18
Family bedroom sleeps 4!
The Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Lounge
Catered dinner parties...
The lovely private rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane A
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Absolutely fantastic weekend. The cottage is more amazing in real life it seems to ooze warmth and charm. The rooms and decor are lovely. The garden is big, private and well kept. We also arranged afternoon tea and it exceeded expectations the scones were freshly made that morning! Jo at the cottage was lovely to deal with too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelek851
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Hen Weekend!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Perfect cottage for our hen weekend! Everyone in our group was impressed with The Wilderness and the spaces worked perfectly with what we had planned. The dinning room space was the best feature and we had both an evening meal and a 'Bake Off' activity in there. The room has curtains by both sets of doors which was a great idea as we could set the table/room for the big reveal! This allowed us to create a wow moment for the group as it was hidden away. The living room was handy for playing sing star and the kitchens were good communal space. There was ample parking and no need to worry about space for cars. Which is handy as other cottages closer to bath had limited space! There were shot glasses, wine glasses and plenty of mugs! The dishwasher was also a party saver! The sauna was very nice and fitted in with our spa morning at the cottage, which involved Sam (mobile beautician that was recommended) coming in to do treatments. Correspondence with Jo (one of the owners) has been very friendly and helpful. There was a welcome card and some bubbly in the fridge when we arrived and I received a phone call at the end of our stay asking if everything went well. Both gestures were greatly appreciated received and added a nice friendly and reassuring touch to the stay. I would recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Dining room that could sit the whole party.
Liked least: The occasional spider! But that's the country side not the cottages fault!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thanks Adele, delighted that you all had such a great weekend. i hope we can look forward to welcoming you again one day...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobby1232...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous long weekend - we're already planning another date to do it all over again!”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We hired the cottage for a hen weekend for my sister and it's actually hard to describe how fabulous the cottage is. It was absolutely perfect for our needs, a big kitchen, big dining room, beautiful rooms, clean bedding, every utensil you can imagine & Jo even left us a welcome card & bubbly! When we arrived we were like excited school children viewing all the rooms & bathrooms, it was like a maze! It has so much character, it was spotless, it was spacious and the layout was perfect for what we needed. We arranged games in one lounge and set up a photo booth in the second lounge which worked so well. We used Libra minibuses Saturday into Bath and the service was spot on. The weekend went so fast and the cottage made the whole weekend feel really special. We are desperate to return and do it all again & I cannot recommend booking with Jo at the Wilderness enough, the lady is a saint keeping the place look brand new & extremely well kept. My sister had an unforgettable weekend. Thank you so much Jo! X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Delighted you all had such a great time! We look forward to welcoming you to The Wilderness again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grumpy_To...
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Family Get-Together”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have recently returned from spending a super week at the Wilderness. It was a three generation family get-together. There was plenty of space for us all. The kitchen was really well equiped with plenty of pans, plates and mugs and TWO kettles (important at breakfast and tea time!) so it was easy to cater for 15 adults and three little ones.
Jo and John were very welcoming and extremely helpful, both in setting up our accomodation to suit us (cots, high chairs and sleeping arrangements) and with dealing with an issue that arose during our stay. Brilliant people and I would thoroughly recommend the Wilderness for similar events.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vezza1982
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had a great weekend organised a hen which everyone loved closed to everything. It was so clean and tidy when arrived.
The communication between owner and myself was excellent she tended to every need.
Plenty of space in cottage for everyone will definitely be coming back.
Thanks again for a lovely weekend away in your cottage

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing