We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
182
41
7
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
41
7
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed beautiful house city centre bath experience charming hosts old house breakfast was excellent lovely surprise bus stop third floor full english guest house a lovely stay lovely room karen pets landlady
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

A warm welcome and a friendly stay. The room was lovely, if a bit tired but that added to the charm. Bathroom could do with some updating but the luxury smellies, fluffy bath towels and cleanliness make up for dated amenities and lack of hairdryer. The draw for us was onsite parking, the option to book for one night only and the competitive price.Breakfast was great and served efficiently and with friendly chat. The centre of Bath is a 20min walk downhill but the walk back is a good half hour and be warned of aching calf muscles if not used to walking up long steep hills, the bus back was an easy option!
We really enjoyed our stay and will definately be using Bloomfield House again. Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: The yellow four poster room (room 6) is charming.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenWeston, Owner at Bloomfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thank you for your kind words, just to let future guests know, we do have hairdryers in all the rooms. (Not attached to the walls, just in one of the drawers.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed in bath for a long romantic weekend. Bloomfield house sound a good B&B choice, with parking, a four-poster bed etc. There is just sufficient parking, so long as other guests have parked well, and even then there is a need to move cars around for those who arrived first to get out, so check if you need to move your car before drinking. The room was quite small, with 2 chairs but we needed to move the chairs to open the wardrobe and the chairs were worn out (with the foam bulging out of multiple holes in the cloth). None of the radiators worked, and although we were given some plug in heaters for the bedroom, the bathroom was very cold. The bathroom light was linked to one of the noisiest fans I have encountered in some time, and set to stay on for 30 minutes, which meant night time trips to the loo kept us both awake :( However on the plus side, it was a four-poster bed (but without pull-around curtains so no romantic hiding in the bed). The breakfast was very good, but took at least 30 minutes to arrive (even the coffee took 15 minutes).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam_in_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenWeston, Owner at Bloomfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

The good news is we are about to re-furbish the rooms and bathrooms, so hopefully all these comments will be addressed very shortly, apart from the size of the room, which sadly I can do nothing about (it is 12'3" x 13'5") The fan in the bathroom I did not realise - in 8 years this is the first time anyone has mentioned it. We WILL get it sorted.

The only thing I would like to defend is breakfast - 15 mins for your coffee is really not the norm. (As I do not know when this happened I can't offer any explanation, but occasionally other guests needs do interupt our routine.) The food, however, does take a good 10 mins to cook as it is all cooked to order from scratch. This I make no apologies for, but it could only have taken 30 mins if - again, other guests needs/orders caused this - for this I do apologise and probably did at the time.

We know people like to pull the curtains on the four posters and when we re-do the rooms this is one of the things I'm trying to re-design - it sounds simple, but when is anything in life simple!!
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel is highly recommended; the owners have created an environment which is warm, relaxed and friendly, yet very professional with a good eye for the small details that can make all the difference. The eco-aspect was a plus for us, not least because we earned a discount for not driving to the hotel. In fact it was the last stop of a 75 mile walk along the Kennett and Avon canal and so we reckoned we deserved a bit of spoiling - and we got it!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed here for only one night but wish it could have been for longer. The Owners Karen and Robert are very accomodating and welcoming. The house is lovely and full of character. Breakfast is amazing. Karen s Poach eggs were spot on! I would recommend and will stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel. They could not be more friendly and accommodating. Brilliant for taking dogs to. Breakfast was amazing too. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigwidgeon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews