We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Great choice for a few days break in Bath- well located, 10 minute walk to centre but lovely rural grounds make it feel like the country. Service was excellent but unobtrusive, only ate breakfast but cooked to order and locally sourced. Room was really comfortable and spa facilities are impressive. I was very impressed and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billymyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,781 - 3,785 of 4,487 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed on a Monday night and had the most wonderfully relaxing time. We stayed in the Argyle Suite which was beautifully decorated and furnished. The only negative was the rather noisy aircon/heating system which even when switched off seemed to make strange gurgling noises! The spa was excellent and the outdoor thermal pool was a real treat. We had dinner in the Vellore Restaurant which was very nice although one minor complaint was that bread was not offered which you would expect from a 5 star hotel. I am sure that if we asked it would have been no problem. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of breads, pastries and cooked options. Although we only stayed for one night we left feeling refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have stayed here several times over the years. first stay was 20 yrs ago when it was clearly a 5* and I have to admit that back then it was real luxury. Since taken over its still a very good hotel but the food is a let down compared to back then. If you upgrade your room and add in a couple of treatments or a spa day at a good rate (shop around!) its ideal for the enchantments if Bath. I adore the whole area for its architecture, shopping, restaurants, countryside and the hotel certainly had gorgeous grounds to walk into. Ensure you try a room at the front for the pretty view and have breakfast with the window open....I wish the service and the food were Like they used to be but its a big chain now who think profit !

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerenityIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel, from start to finish the experience was outstanding, our reservation was made by a lady called Tina the customer service was brilliant, really made us feel special we had dinner in the Vellore restaurant the food and service was superb, the spa was lovely. the bedrooms were clean all the staff were friendly. Would highly recommend the Bath Spa Hotel.
Truly had a lovely week end.

Room Tip: Penthouse lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank great186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with cooked breakfast included.

On the first night the room was too hot, the window was stuck fast and the cooling function on the air conditioning was disabled (my experience now tells me this is not unusual in most hotel rooms). More worryingly, it was obvious there were condensation issues in the room (black spot mould growth on the external wall around the windows, lots of condensation on the windows) - not ideal if you are afflicted with respiratory issues. I find that situation at odds with their status as a spa hotel. Anyway, I explained the situation to reception the next morning and by the afternoon, the window had been eased and opened, which was fine.

Bathroom was a good size, with lots of shelf space. The shower was hot and reasonably strong. Not up to my standards of cleanliness - dirty floor, stained bath / WC, mould growth on the bath sealant.

The indoor and outdoor pools were pleasant, although heavily chlorinated. This is not necessarily a bad thing, when one is forced to share what is essentially a 'large bath' with the other punters.

Breakfast was adequate, although when I order a full English breakfast, I expect to see two sausages on the plate, not a lonesome chipolata. Admittedly it was a gourmet sausage, but size was disappointing :/

Located about 10-15 min walk (quite pleasant) from the City Centre.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GentleBenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.6 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 km away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,386 reviews
1.8 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.0 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $242 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing