We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere and DELICIOUS Food”
Review of The Chequers

The Chequers
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chequers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 643 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 14 - USD 30
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A landmark dining destination in the historic town of Bath, The Chequers is a beautifully restored gastropub on Rivers Street that has been serving customers since 1776. Offering a slice of local living to visitors from out of town, The Chequers is an elegant escape from the city’s bustling boutiques and is only a short walk from the Circus and the Royal Crescent. Serving a menu of home cooked, local & seasonal food alongside a premium selection of wines, local ciders and real ales, this is a fantastic place to spend an evening over a bottle or two with friends and family. On the menu you’ll find gastropub fare unrivalled in Bath with old pub favourites including their award winning Sunday lunch given a classy makeover. The Chequers restaurant also caters for business meetings and private parties.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our first visit to The Chequers and am really looking forward to going back very soon. The atmosphere is fab and the staff are there to cater for you from the moment you walk in to when you are sat at your table. The food is absolutely delicious and presented so beautifully. The drinks menu is great too. Myself and my husband thoroughly enjoyed the evening and will be booking up again in a few weeks.
Thank you to you all for all your hard work and of course the people behind the scenes that you don't see unfortunately. (The Chef in particularly, what can I say but amazing) :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacqueline2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusannahR48, Assistant Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What lovely comments! So glad you enjoyed your visit and looking forward to be welcoming you back soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best roast in Bath, the only reason given 4 instead of 5 is that it is a little on the pricey side for what you get.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusannahR48, Assistant Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the sharing roast for two which was presented beautifully and was an interesting combination of lamb and shepherds pie which worked really well. Everything one could want from a Sunday Roast.

Thank 438bradleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusannahR48, Assistant Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, makes us very happy to see the haring roast was well received! We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wanted to take my boyfriend for a traditional English Sunday lunch and we were not disappointed! The pub dates for the early 18th century so has plenty of character. All the staff seemed pretty friendly, they had local beers on tap which is always a positive. Everything was well cooked and seemed fresh it’s the best Sunday lunch I have had in a while!

Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusannahR48, Assistant Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and we delivered on the traditional English Sunday lunch! We hope to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

This gastro pub delivers amazing food. From the home made bread through to the absolutely delicious salted caramel fondant everything we ate was flavoursome & beautifully presented. All of this paired with wine from a well thought out wine list. Don’t be fooled by the modest interior of this pub with its wooden floorboards & miss match pub style furniture, they are delivering fine dining at reasonable prices. The staff were friendly & helpful & made the whole evening a throughly enjoyable experience which we will look to repeat every time we are in Bath.

Thank JaneReigate_Surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusannahR48, Supervisor at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, always glad to see that a visit has been enjoyed by all! We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Bath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chequers also viewed

 

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing