We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apt 1 St. Anne's

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
benat4phi...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very central location for every thing”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This apartment was very central for shopping eating Shrewsbury Flower Show. But place itself was not brilliant. very spacious but area outside was very rough. unable to open windows and reception for television very poor the whole time we were there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattw1994
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay here; at the worst apartment ever!”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When you walk in you will feel excited. The apartment is adequately sized with a great sized living and dining room. There is one bedroom upstairs with two single beds. The kitchen is, again, nicely sized and will work well if you need to cook for a large group of people.

Down stairs you will find another two bedrooms. The master bedroom is a little on the small side, however, the other two bedrooms with two single beds does make up for the size.

The location is very central to town so you will not have far to walk.

Unfortunately, after the initial excitement of staying at this apartment, we had the misfortune of a host of issues. One being the host himself.

Firstly, the apartment as a whole is very unclean and unsanitary. The attention to detail with the overall cleanliness is incredibly disappointing, and, had we stayed there for longer than 3 days I feel like we would have had to deep clean the place ourselves. It was simple things such as the dirt behind the toilet lids, the layer of dust on top of ornaments, the piles of rubbish behind the beds. I can't even go to describe our disgust when we pulled out the sofa bed. If you wish to use culturally I would advise bringing your own. I don't think the owners of this apartment have cleaned them since 1986.

Then came the most horrible experience I've had whilst renting out a place to stay. The downstairs toilet is run off of a Saniflo toilet system, which means all the waste goes through a macerator before being sent up into the main pipeline. There are signs and warnings everywhere to tell you not to flush anything you shouldn't down the toilet. We headed this advice and used the toilet as any other normal person would.

Unfortunately, on the very first morning of our stay the whole downstairs system became blocked. Waste began coming up through the shower and bath. We all knew that we had done nothing to block the toilet. We phoned up the first point of contact to request it to be fixed as this was the only washing facilities available in the apartment and we had to prepare for a wedding on the following day. We contacted them no later than 09:00. By 17:00 we were getting a bit frustrated with the smell which was now lingering around the apartment. After contacting again we were finally informed that they were attempting to get out one of their contractors, but they had all been busy so far. We are fair people so accepted this reasoning, even if we were getting frustrated waiting. There was, however, no excuses the lack of contact we received about such a serious issue.

Now, Cue the owner of the property turning up. Oh how unpleasant that man was. He began accusing us and threatening to charge us £600 to repair the system. He was very quick to point out that the system was 'checked' by the cleaner before we arrived and he was sure something was blocking the macerator. I hasten to add that this 'check' only involved the cleaner flushing the toilet and signing a piece of paper. I know, sounds like a thorough check doesn't it?

Finally, at 21:00 a plumber finally arrived. After just 20 minutes it was all back to normal. In fact, the saniflo system was NOT blocked and there was nothing stuck in the macerator. How funny, we were right, we hadn't flushed anything down the toilet we shouldn't have. I'm just glad we received an apology from the owner for how accusatory he was of us... oh wait... no we didn't.

Looking back on this situation, he most amusing point was when the plumber told us two things:

1) The owner had told him to take pictures of whatever was blocking the toilet so he could charge us the amount to repair it.
2) A simple 'flush check' by the cleaner is not suitable to prove that nothing blocked the system from previous uses - this can only be done by a qualified plumber.

So, to cut a long story short. If you want to be threatened, treated disgustingly and live in a feces ridden property for your stay, then pick this apartment. It may look nice in the pictures, but every stay here risks you being ripped off by the money hungry owner.

Very, very disappointed and caused a lot of unnecessary stress on a very busy weekend for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shrewsbury hotels

Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you enjoyed the apartment. Do let me know if you are returning to Shrewsbury, as we'll be happy to discount a second stay.
Warm Regards
Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anglophil...
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but...”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in July 2016

The flat is very spacious and well appointed, and very convenient to the center of town, restaurants, parks, etc. That said, I take issue with it being advertised as having 3 bathrooms. In fact it has a bathtub, shower and sink room (very nice) and two separate toilets, one in a closet downstairs and one in the laundry area. Not a problem for my husband and me, but if a family rented this flat with the expectation of 3 bathrooms to go along with the 3 bedrooms they would be very disappointed. Perhaps if the listing were a little more forthcoming this could be avoided.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
thanks for your review. Unfortunately the description of rooms/bathrooms is due to specifics TripAdvisor have with their website presentations. We've asked them to amend this before but have not been successful.
We hope you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing