We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dining!”

House of the Rising Sun
Ranked #24 of 405 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 18
Cuisines: Sushi, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: “The sun is always rising somewhere in the world” A team of chefs who have drawn their inspiration from their travels and memories serve up their recollection of global street food and sharing dishes. We bring these creations back to our home and recreate them here for you – hoping to take you on a journey of flavour and excitement. Our food is essentially served in what you may refer to as ‘tapas’- choose about 3 dishes each and we will send them to the table as and when each of them is ready. We would recommend you choose 1 dish from each the ‘LAND’, ‘EARTH’ and ‘SEA’ – It’s all about sharing and having a little taste of everything in a social environment with your friends or family.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the passer-by,a bar that intrigues, inside very black with discreet lighting. The staff amiable and helpful, the food delicious and the drinks varied to suit anybody. This bar
/restaurant a place for a break from wandering in this characterful town. Butcher Row is right in the heart of the mediaeval town. Loved the gothick interior!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DillonJRichards, Manager at House of the Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Gerald B,
it was a real pleasure reading your review, so thank you. We are indeed a great pit-stop whilst in town as we are so central, whether it be for food or just a drink. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Regards, HOTRS team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a popular eating place for us and our friends. The menu is always interesting with lots of tasty dishes. It’s a bit dark inside, but the outside tables provide a great spot for people watching in decent weather. They offer a great choice of cocktails and other drinks and the staff are always happy to make a drink for a special request.
Good, friendly staff who always try to please.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 774ralphl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DillonJRichards, Manager at House of the Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ralph L,
We are glad that you enjoy your visits to us so much we have become a firm favourite of yours. We are proud of our eclectic menu, and think there is something to suit most tastes. As long as we have the ingredients we need we are usually happy to make almost any cocktail that someone requests, and remember we run happy hour on our classic cocktails between 5 and 7pm everyday apart from saturday. Thanks again, hope to see you soon. Regards, HOTRS team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With fabulous cocktails, a good wine list & great food, this is our favourite restaurant in Shrewsbury. Staff are great & the ambience is very welcoming. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Amy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DillonJRichards, Manager at House of the Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Amy088,
you haven't left me much to say, apart from to thank you for such great feedback. As a restaurant if our cocktails, wine and food are all hitting the mark, we are on the right track! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards. HOTRS team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes yes yes!!! Get to this stunning, different restaurant asap! The food is amazing and the cocktails definitely in my top 5 for proper, good, tasty and delicious, oh and Johnny you're the best too!!! Thanks guys, you all made our evening absolutely terrific!! Back soon

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DillonJRichards, Manager at House of the Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jullie S,
thank you for such a great review, it was a pleasure looking after you, and great fun for me too. We would love to see you again soon, for more top food and cocktails. Regards, HOTRS team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 12:50 and ordered our food within 5 minutes of being seated. It was a quiet Sunday with a handful of customers so there were no excuses for the very long wait! We had to ask the staff how much longer we had to wait, they didn’t attempt to update us on the delayed service nor did they apologise initially. At 13:45 they informed me that the order wasn’t sent to the kitchen. At this point we decided to leave, they did give our drinks for free which is of little consolation. Extremely disappointed

Date of visit: November 2018
3  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DillonJRichards, Manager at House of the Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Daniel H,
I think firstly I should simply offer our apologies, as on Sunday it appears your experience with us was not as it should have been. There was an error made when it came to putting your food order on the till and sending it to the kitchen which led to a wait on your food. Sorry if this wasn't effectively communicated immediately to you. Our level of service is something that we are immensely proud of here at the restaurant, and this review has triggered a kinetic chain of discussion and protocol change to try and ensure the same does not happen again. If you would like to discuss this further, please message or call the restaurant and as for either Dillon or Jonny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of the Rising Sun also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to House of the Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing