We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch”
Review of Four Crosses Inn

Four Crosses Inn
Ranked #92 of 409 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I have had lunch here several times recently and each time it has been very enjoyable. Side salad bar which is eat as much as you want, several choices not just the usual leaves, tomatoes and cucumber. Buffet food which looks delicious, the lasagne a few weeks ago was lovely.
Yesterday the sun was shining so we sat outside, nothing was too much trouble for the waitress bringing us menus, cutlery and condiments. The garlic mushrooms in a creamy sauce with crisp warm crusty bread was delicious, followed by Scampi and chips was lovely. My friend had pate follows by chorizo kebabs which she said was gorgeous. The price was very reasonable and yes we will certainly call again. There was a mini bus full of customers who arrived at the same time so we thought we would have to wait for our meals, however it was bought to us in a very timely manner which impressed us. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Josy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Have eaten here many times. Visited last weekend with my daughter on Saturday evening. The pub was about half full and we were seated promptly. Ordered food, got drink from bar and tried a bit of the poorly stocked salad bar. We have had many lovely meals here before but something has changed. Didn't recognise any staff so may have changed management recently? I ordered sizzling chicken. It did sizzle but was so very bland. A small chicken breast on a few onions and peppers served with a bowl of chips. Very dry and basic, what I would expect from a two for a tenner pub. Let's hope it was a one off. Most annoyed that it took quite a while to clear table and after getting another drink and waiting 20 minutes no one even offered us the opportunity to order a dessert. Paid bill , no tip, told waitress why, empty glazed look. Bye.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Been many times for the lunchtime buffet. The decor is now very smart and since the refurbishment the pub is a very pleasant place to eat. Good use of the space available. Unfortunately the food quality is very variable. Whilst some dishes are very tasty the roast turkey today was completely tasteless and seemed to have come out of a tin. I could be wrong but every slice of Turkey was identically round and flavourless! The lasagne however was very nice. "Hit and miss" as another reviewer put it. Still good. value for money and the serving staff are very pleasant and efficient

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Returned for another roast dinner at the four crosses and once again was not disappointed! Was very busy but definitely worth it. Piping hot food, lovely roast turkey and the biggest carvery plate anywhere! Such good value for money! And the staff were very helpful as my friend required help getting their meal and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Will return and sample one of their other menus soon!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank dave81shrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch. This used to be our carvery of choice, the quality of the food used to be outstanding but haven't been for a long time, the owners have changed and it was so disappointing. The standard of the food was very average, served on cold plates. The place also needs a spruce up, tatty paintwork on doors, watermarked ceiling and filthy skirting boards. The staff were lovely but couldn't make up for sticky tables and mucky cutlery. Won't be going back.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Beryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Four Crosses Inn also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Four Crosses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing