We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nick & jane tilley..”
Review of The Yockleton Arms

The Yockleton Arms
Ranked #9 of 406 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Met up with friends for Sunday lunch at the Yockleton arms .from when we walked in the atmosphere was so friendly & welcoming.our pre-booked table was all ready & waiting for us all. (8)..the waitresses was so helpfull & friendly. Our meal was cooked to perfection with a vast array of vegetables. If you want a place full of character.lovely atmosphere. Good food & reasonably priced this is the place to go..

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Consistently excellent. Roast dinner at its best. Quality and lots of flavours. eight different veg, two types of spuds meat perfectly cooked. Fabulous service with a smile and a great atmosphere.
Oh and all that for under 11 quid.
I don't think you can do better.
Have been before, will go again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yockletonarms, Owner at The Yockleton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there Mike E,

Thank you so much for leaving us another brilliant review!
We really appreciate all feedback that we get.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

The best Sunday lunch so far. Very tasty , nicely presented, acompanied by delicious cooked vegetables and gravy ! Highly recommended :)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GrazynaL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yockletonarms, Owner at The Yockleton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you GrazynaL26 for taking the time to leave us a great review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch at The Yockleton Arms.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks
Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

A group of us from different countries meet every year for a weekend. This weekend we went to this pub for Sunday roast. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. Booking was simple and seamless. The food came quickly and was very affordable. One of our party loved it so much that he not only finished his own plate, but he ate the leftovers of two other people! They were nice enough to even offer us desserts, even though they were past closing time! I highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Amalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yockletonarms, Owner at The Yockleton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alina K,

We appreciate the time you have given to write us a lovely review.
Sunday lunches are a very busy time for us, we are glad that you and your party enjoyed their lunch with us!
We do hope to see you all again, maybe when you next have your reunion.

Kind regards,
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

We moved to Shropshire 12 months ago and the Yockleton Arms being close to our home ,was one of the first pubs we visited for a meal.

Our first dining experience was Sunday lunch. This was very generous with a good selection of vegetable side dishes and tasty. The desserts were equally very good and the Chantilly cream and berries was ideal to finish with. Subsequently, my wife and I have enjoyed every meal we have had there.

We have visited several times since both to eat or just drinks, and always found the food, service and atmosphere very good. Both Suzanne and Christine are very friendly and professional and have time for a chat.

Although may appear to be more food focused than drink, there is always one local real ale available and good selection of spirits and wines with drinkers made to feel welcome.

The Yockleton Arms are also proactive in holding other event celebrations such as Halloween, Bonfire Night and Mexican Evenings etc. which we have attended and found very enjoyable.

We are a little surprised by a few reviews with negative comments as based on all our visits have found the the licensees, Suzanne & Christine very welcoming. Appreciate all businesses may have "off day" but having got to know the licensees would expect them to resolve any grievances / complaints in a polite professional manner. When reading reviews, I think people should take into account we all may have differing measures and expectations of food quality, service and value for money

All in all, in our experience a very good and well run pub which has deservedly grown in popularity over the last 12 months and we are looking forward to our next visit

Phil & Jan

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yockletonarms, Owner at The Yockleton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Phil & Jan for taking the time to leave us a great review!

We do appreciate the time taken to give us such great feedback from your time spent at The Yockleton Arms.

We look forward to welcoming you both in the near further.

Kind Regards
Suzanne & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yockleton Arms also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Yockleton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing