We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely setting.”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

There is much that was nice about this hotel. Its an attractive house set in beautiful countryside a fair walk from Ludlow, you definitely need a car.The staff were very friendly and charming. The house is attractively decorated and comfortable. We didn't try the pool or spa facilities.
We did find the bathroom very small and disappointing with an electric shower and very little space for manoeuvre. The bed was okay but the duvet and pillows rather average quality. It was very quiet however and we slept well.
Breakfast was okay, but variable. My husband doesn't eat egg, or black pudding and so asked for bacon, sausage and mushroom. He got one rasher of bacon, one sausage and a few pieces of mushroom. The next day he got two of everything! The food in the restaurant was good but personally we would have liked more choice rather than a set three course meal, we would have eaten in the restaurant more often rather than going out if we could have had something lighter. In all I thought this was a good three star hotel with four star prices.The clientèle were overwhelmingly older couples and this is a good base for touring or walking.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    82
    46
    23
    22
See reviews for
24
183
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was our first visit to the Overton Grange. We booked the 3 night weekend break and were looking forward to sampling the fine dining. The hotel is situated about 1.5 miles outside of Ludlow, in a great setting of rolling hills and fantastic countryside. The room was lovely, the food was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a wonderful time. The only dissapointment was that we both wanted to stay much longer!

Room Tip: Room 21 was good size with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barlaw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Our first visit for a 3 night weekend break.The setting is lovely.Accomodation was very good.The staff were very helpful & attentive.The food was excellent as was the service.For what you got I think that it was very fairly priced.We would certainly go back & would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L0ndon
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was our second visit At the end of the first visit the owner was dismissive of a concern expressed about the quality of a Spa treatment although we had enjoyed the 'Overton experience'
It is in a peaceful quite beautiful setting overlooking rolling countryside about 1.5 miles south of Ludlow. The atmosphere is relaxed,the welcome and reception courteous and efficient and staff generally friendly with two serving breakfast and at least two serving at dinner.
Dinner can be a little souless and lacking in atmosphere, in a dining room which can be cool on an autumn evening, if not many are dining, which in our experience is often the case .The food is interesting but to be offered the same menu on consecutive evenings is not what we expected, to be fair to the hotel they did offer a different dish of our choice when we asked.
Breakfast vaied in quality, one morning a small egg and a single small piece of bacon, another morning two eggs and two pieces of bacon.
Is it value for money? I would suggest it is overpriced and a service charge is an additional cost. Our bed had a mark on the duvet cover which brushed off, the drapes had three of the runners off so the cutrain did not close properly and one day the towels did not seem as they were changed. The pool is rather cool and the sauna is not working.
We did not express any concern as we were dismissed on a previous visit and we will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acerfOrmby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed "the peaceful and quite beautiful setting overlooking rolling countryside" ," The atmosphere is relaxed,the welcome and reception courteous and efficient and staff generally friendly with two serving breakfast and at least two serving at dinner."
The sauna was unfortunately out of order due to mis-use from guests.
However, we value your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

What a disappointment... after great expectations, I feel let down and ripped off. The room was nicely appointed and fairly clean - although there were a few cobwebs in the bathroom (and don't look behind the taps in the bath!!), nowhere to hang wet towels, only one lot of toiletries between 2 people for a 2 night stay. Beds comfortable, water hot. BUT they call themselves a Spa hotel - what a joke! Well there were some over priced treatments available, a very small pool (about 4 strokes will get you from one end to the other), and the sauna was broken. NO towels, no shower gel or shampoo, no bathrobes. The food was however very good, but pricey and the wine was extortionate - £20 for a bottle of house wine. Service was good, if not a little over attentive. Obviously they have had someone doing the redecoration who has a fetish for cushions ... they are just EVERYWHERE! If you do visit this hotel (which I would never do again), you could guarantee a soft landing (on a strategically placed cushion) when they present you the bill! (PS. Watch out for the 10% service charge they put on your bill for eating in the restaurant)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeliaAkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your review. Overton Grange prides itself as a Fine Country House Hotel offering excellent food and service to our discerning Guests. In addition, the Hotel also offers complimentary use of the Pool as an additional feature, and Spa Treatments can also be enjoyed by Guests on requests and subject to availability, by appointment only. Our reputation for food and Fine Wines Selection is recognised in all major Guides, and appreciated by most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
4.6 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
3.0 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
2.8 km away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
25.5 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
4.0 km away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Country Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Country Hotel
Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price range (per night): $189 - $304
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Overton Grange Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Country Hotel Ludlow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing