We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm quirky ambience. Terrific food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Pantry

The French Pantry
Ranked #4 of 84 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 39
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“warm quirky ambience. Terrific food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We visited on a tip from a local. Very lucky to get a table and asked to come early but this was because of a large party and not because they wanted us to leave! The table was ours for the evening. The decor was warm, like a french deli cross bistro..you would be equally comfortable in jeans or designer clothes! The food was excellent. A well designed and executed menu with a real feel of regional france. Wine pairings by the glass were thoughtfully chosen and really added to the evening. We felt that we were " hosted" by Simon and his team...rather than just " served" . We will be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nb1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    153
    38
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch, will definitely be back again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I popped in for lunch on a child free weekend recently - what a discovery! A pleasant and cozy lunch that was presented with a wonderful passion for food so often lost now in the mechanics of cuisine. The service was attentive, friendly and honest whilst the food was delivered from a kitchen that obviously knows who it is directing itself towards. We will definitely be making a return booking for an evening meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfredthebutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We visited the French Pantry last Firday, the 24th February. The restaurant is georgeous. The staff were lovely and the food great. We would definately be back

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank valron1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Valentines Delight.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

A surprise visit to The French Pantry was arranged by my Husband for Valentines night due to my raving about our previous visit.
It was a wonderful evening and I won`t bore you with the details of all the beautiful food we ate but Im trying not to salivate too much while writing this review and recalling the meals that were placed before us.

I challenge anyone to go there and not to be impressed by the delicious french fayre that they give. Well done Chef.

This place has a big personality and the ambience is second to none

All the staff there are so friendly and make you feel at ease immediately and very welcome.

Once again I must congratulate the French Pantry for an unforgetable evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent little bistro, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We popped in for lunch on a monday and the place was packed. Even though the friendly waitress/manager(?) was rushed off her feet she was very cheerful and made sure she kept all the diners happy. We only had starters but they were very good, the beurre blanc on the crab gateau was probably the best i have ever had. Even the chef(Olivier?) had stopped by for lunch on his day off! checking that everything was kept up to his high standards maybe?! We look forward to returning for an evening meal in the future and shall be telling all our friends about our great experience here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank daisymay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Pantry also viewed

 

Been to The French Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing