We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ironbridge, Telford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge View Guest House
Ranked #1 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Just spent a fab weekend in Ironbridge. Stayed at the Bridgeview Guest House. Would very much recommend you stay there if you're visiting. Had a great room with view of the bridge. Room small but very well equipped, spotlessly clean and modern. Fridge with complimentary mini bar (even a couple of choc cakes) It's the little things that mean a lot !!! Every one of the staff were lovely, couldn't do enough to please, nothing was too much trouble. Fab breakfasts (anything you want)!!! Walked to the Blist Hill Victorian Town (took about an hour) You have to pay a visit to this place. It was brilliant, authentic as well as very educational. Loved it. Can't wait to go back and visit all the other places didn't get a chance to see

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the bridge can be noisier with the traffic but we found it fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anji459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Sun was cracking the flags as we rolled up to Bridge View.. We couldn't find anywhere to park because it has double yellow lines in front.. We pulled up in a lay by and called.. The phone was answered by a lovely lady who told us to park outside because there's 20 minutes grace.. Once we pulled we were greeted by Richard who took our bags and showed us to our room.. Going the extra mile doesn't even come close.. Friendly, polite, helpful and then some.. Room (Furnace) faced the back of the hotel we would have preferred the front, we did book last minute so it was what it was.. What it was, was clean, well appointed, with some lovely touches.. Bottles of complimentary Rose and White wine were unexpected in a B&B as was the sewing kit.. We would defy anybody to get through the tea and coffee supplied in a day.. The shower was full length overhead,midriff and legs and the soaps, shower gels etc were of high quality.. The location is excellent and is the closest you can get to the bridge without being on it.. Breakfast was excellent and taken in Derbys which is a cafe in its own right during the day.. We liked it and couldn't find any reason to knock it back so we haven't..

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This B&B is located on the road that run alongside the river and is set almost bang in-front of the famous bridge. The downside to this is that there is no parking attached to the B&B, so you have to park a 5-minute walk up the road where they have a private, locked-up car-park. We went past it to start with and had to turn around in the public car-park just after it. You can unload on the double-yellows outside the B&B first though.

The B&B is part of the cafe business below it. During cafe 'opening hours' you can pop into the cafe, and they will help you get properly arrived. If you let them know that you are going to arrive outside of these hours, you can receive a massive, daunting yet comprehensive text with arrival instructions. Don't let this put you off. It gives you the code to get in, and then in the room there's a map to the car-park and room-keys.

We were in the 'Severn' room. It is a very nice room - quite bijou - with a comfortable but very low bed, all the usual conveniences including a brilliant fridge. There's also just room for a small chair. It's very clean and tidy. It overlooks the main road which was brilliant scenically (is that a word?) but on the Friday and Saturday nights we stayed, I found the people and cars quite noisy outside. My wife didn't notice it though, so it obviously wasn't too bad, and we did have the window open. By midnight it was all quiet anyway.

As I said, the fridge was excellent; perfectly silent and nice and cold, and our hosts had thoughtfully stocked it with a few liquid essentials. There were also a few chocky treats over by the kettle!

I found the Wi-Fi weak but just about usable, and no phone-signal at all (go figure; EE on a HTC M10: the combination of idiots).

The en-suite was also small, but again it was clean, modern and fully-equipped. The shower itself was a fancy-dan unit that squirted horizontal jets, if you wanted!

I should point out that although the room itself was quite small, there was a big comfy chair in the hall just outside, and that hall led to a nice outside terrace area with seats and tables for use in the warm weather.

Breakfasts were served in the cafe on reserved tables and were great. I won't go through them, as they were per online menu, but will say that the Full English I had the first day lasted me through the day! My wife had the mackerel and fried egg and that was a yummy plateful too. Service was excellent. My only criticism of the breakfast was that the coffee was disappointingly weak.

Finally, a word on our hosts. 'Mr Host' was definitely the front-of-house person and he was a jolly, welcoming soul who reminded my wife of Michael McIntyre. We asked his advice on best places to eat (always good to get local advice) and got a great run-down on all the eateries in the town - very helpful.

The entire stay was extremely well-organised and slick, and I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

A lovely place to stay, very helpful staff, lots of little extra's in the room which was very clean and well presented. The breakfast menu was extensive and freshly cooked to a very high standard, Derby's cafe downstairs had a good atmosphere and served a varied menu and drinks, again to a very high standard. The bonus for myself was that they also cater for a Gluten free diet without compromising quality or flavour. There is also a free and secure car park, which definitely is a bonus in Ironbridge.
We would love to stay again sometime.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Derby room, a large room with sitting area which had a perfect view over the bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allNicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We have just returned from an absolutely fantastic stay. From the moment we arrived outside the staff were there to help us take our luggage from the car where we were shown the Darby Suite.We were on the top floor overlooking the bridge, the room was outstanding shear luxury with a complimentary bar. We had our first meal downstairs in Darby's restaurant. The staff could not do enough for us or any other visitor that came through the door. The breakfast was fantastic I indulged in the full cooked breakfast while my wife had the salmon and eggs. We could not fault the accommodation or the hospitality that we had for the full weekend. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Overlooking the bridge, although all the rooms were of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rp004i9291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.9 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
973 reviews
0.4 km away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
2.9 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
165 reviews
0 km away
Library House
Library House
#3 of 10 in Ironbridge
237 reviews
0.8 km away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#2 of 10 in Ironbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge View Guest House

Address: 10 Tontine Hill, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range: $168 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridge View Guest House is set next to the historic Iron Bridge. This charming guest house sits above a delightful tea room serving food all day. When the Iron Bridge was built in 1779, artists, travellers and even industrial spies flocked to see it. At Bridge View Guest House, you can admire the striking ironwork while enjoying full English or continental breakfast. Bridge View's rooms are spacious and elegant in style, with pretty paintings and contemporary decor. Bathrobes and free toiletries feature in each en suite bathroom, and benefits also include a flat-screen TV with a DVD player, and an iPod docking station. There is also a fridge with complementary content. Free Wi-Fi is offered. A short stroll along the River Severn will take you to a range of restaurants and eateries. Ironbridge Gorge Museum can be reached in around 20 minutes on foot, and Telford is about a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bridge View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing