We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“first class stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Beautiful Georgian building in pleasant location in Ironbridge Gorge. Very attentive and professional staff. If you stay here you must try the restaurant, the food is superb. I recently visited the Hilton Liverpool and the food was definitely on a par with that hotel, with a far friendlier ambience. There was a couple of decent real ales on at the bar which always gets my vote. Altogether a most pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms in the extended part so cannot comment on the original Georgian rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    292
    71
    29
    13
See reviews for
115
464
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
161 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed for one night. Room small, but had it all. Small shower room, no bath. Breakfast could have been better. It looked like self service, but some one served from behind the servery. So the queues bilt up. Either go self service, or serve a full English breakfast, straight from the kitchen. We could not catch the eye of the serving staff, so had to wait for our tea and coffee. In the end I had to go looking for some one to request tea and toast.NOT IDEAL.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasoneddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Previous Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our property, we hope you enjoyed your time in our wonderful area. I am sorry to learn of your difficulties at Breakfast, your comments have been passed to the Restaurant Team for review. We run a buffet service on busy mornings in the hotel to ensure that guests receive a hot breakfast in the most efficient way possible. The food is served by a member of the team not only to help this to happen but also to provide a level of service to the guest. I am sorry for any delay you experienced.
We do hope you will come and see us again soon. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed on a Living Social voucher £119 all in for two nights B and B, including 20% off dinner in the restaurant, a free bottle of wine and 25% off Ironbridge Museum Passport which lasts a year and gives you entry into 10 museums as many times as you like. But the passport is well worth it without any discount.

From start to finish all staff were very friendly, welcoming, polite, cheerful, helpful and professional. The service was excellent. There was a big choice at breakfast hot and cold, everything you could want and the food was good.

The hotel is very comfortable throughout. I was expecting a standard room, given we went on a voucher, however our room was very big with views to the park and hill (we watched a woodpecker Saturday morning from our window in the tree outside), a four poster bed and ensuite, tea + coffee and biscuits and Digital satellite TV. Everywhere was very clean. Check in is 2pm and check out 11am, ample parking.

There is so much to do in and around Ironbridge, with it's Teddy Bear museum and shop, delicious deli, lovely gift shops, famous pasty and pie shop, top quality restaurants (you must book well in advance at Da Vinci's), antiques and second hand books. It is of course a very beautiful place on the River Severn with a rich, fascinating history.

What good embassadors the staff at Best Western are and what an encouragement to visit the area. Well done for all your hard work - I know what a team effort it is, from cleaning staff to catering, to reception and admin, to managers to create such a lovely relaxed and happy atmosphere and how difficult it can be to satisfy some guests... Well be sure we were very satisfied, thank you so much for making our stay such a wonderful experience. We would certainly reccommend Best Western Valley Hotel, Ironbridge to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building with a view, away from any group function (we were not aware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Previous Guest,

We were delighted to learn of your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The team work very hard to ensure enjoyable experiences for all of our guests, and I know they will be as delighted to read your comments. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon, perhaps to use some more of your museum passport in Ironbridge. If we can be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you for your feedback

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had my wedding reception at this hotel in 2011, so thought it apt to come and stay here again for our Anniversary this week.
We had the honeymoon suite which is absolutely gorgeous and immaculately clean (which i am very fussy about).
The staff are amazing and nothing seems like to much trouble.
Then there is the Chez Maw restaurant! I absolutely love it! I can never fault the food, its just divine. The waiting on staff are fantastic and are always attentive and professional
Would recommend this hotel and the restaurant to anyone.
Thank you, can't wait til next year's anniversary!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Previous Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We were delighted that you celebrated your anniversary with us and that we provided you with such an enjoyable experience, our team members will equally appreciate your comments. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for your next anniversary, or perhaps even sometime before!
Please don t hesitate to contact us, when we can be of assistance to you.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We recently spent two great days at the Valley hotel. The room was excellent, clean and comfortable. The food at the Chez Maw bar and restaurant was very good and well priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neesa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Previous Guest

We are delighted to learn of your feedback of your recent stay with us. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance to you.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
3.4 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.4 km away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
6.4 km away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
22.1 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
6.5 km away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price range (per night): $110 - $207
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing