We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub”
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #418 of 1,575 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 10
Cuisines: British, Grill, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Visit The Rising Sun Hotel in Sheffield for authentic British cooking and real ales in a genuine local pub warmed by a cosy fire. Our pub-food menu features classic meals made with award-winning ingredients. Included are seasonal specials and buffet food for all occasions, and great value set menus too. You'll also find a hand-picked range of perfectly conditioned cask ales on tap, and a selection of fine wines from around the world. A true local in Sheffield, we're a great place to meet up with friends and swap stories. Take part in our weekly quiz, or just come to eat and relax in our stylish pub surroundings.
A TripAdvisor Member
126
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Very cosy warm pub Sunday lunch time. Called in after a walk it's a busy pub but we got a table ordered drinks and four Sunday lunches.service is excellent staff really nice and friendly the food is superb lovely roast beef.Very good prices for both food and drink.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thanks for 5* review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We came to the pub about 5.00pm on mother's day having prebooked. Our table was all ready for us and we were a party of 8 plus 2 kids. All pleasant atmosphere and quite busy we ordered drinks and our meals and all were served within a reasonable time and all were very good quality.
I would certainly recommend the rising sun for a quiet family meal its a great place to meet have a relaxed drink and something to eat. Highly recommended.

Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Ronald, Thanks for the 5* review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Is it the same place I went to a month ago. ? Absolutely awful beef pie and chips,. The pie was cardboard pastry with a dribble filling. Didn't see any pieces of beef, I like the pub but avoid the ghastly food.

Thank mangia2re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your food on your last visit. Was it the pulled beef pie off our £4.49 daytime menu you had? If so, this doesn't have pieces of beef. I wish you'd have informed us at the time then we would have happily exchanged your meal for you as we like everyone to leave happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

We visit here often and once again we weren't let down. We opted for the set menu which we had 3 courses for little over £10 so very much worth it. Our food was great as was the service, it's a very friendly team who always take the time to chat and make the conversation flow. There were a number of quality real ales available and wine as always. We are never let down and will return.

Thank davidbell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

David thank you for taking the time to review us and give us 5*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Place packed as usual always a good sign. This is such a warm cosy pub with lovely friendly staff. For me the best Sunday lunch for miles and a really good pint of stones.Two course Sunday lunch less than nine quid and quality as well. Two roast chicken dinners and a roast beef gorgeous prawn cocktails and lovely sweet to finish.Must say the roast chicken is the tastiest I've ever had.

Thank chasweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Chasweb, Thank you for such a lovely review, I'll make sure the whole team get the feedback. hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing