We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've said it before and I'll say it again - THIS IS THE BEST BREAKFAST IN SHEFFIELD!”
Review of The Hidden Gem

The Hidden Gem
Ranked #1 of 1,608 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hidden Gem cafe is linked to a small charity for young adults with learning difficulties, it is the perfect quiet retreat set back from Ringing low Road. You can call in for coffee and cake or something more substantial like homemade light bites, full English breakfast and delicious daily specials. Food is served Monday-Saturday 9am - 3pm and coffee and cake until 4. Our bijoux gift shop sells a beautiful array of home accessories, gifts and bespoke pieces. We also sell stunning handmade items that the students of WORK Ltd create
Reviewed 6 October 2017

I don't know why, but we haven't been for a while and I had just forgotten how very good this breakfast is. Fantastic sausages, home made beans, super bacon, perfect eggs, great home made black pudding, thyme-infused mushroom, roast tomato, home made toast and great coffee. For me this is a perfect GEM of a breakfast in a lovely environment, plus, of course, the wonderful WORK ethos.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi SheffieldPip,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and say such wonderful things about the Hidden Gem. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Was there for brunch with my cousin and both enjoyed the informal yet stylish atmosphere. I had Egg Benedictine which were cooked to perfection, she had another Egg on toast prepared to perfection. We had an old-fashioned lemonade and paid a really skinny bill. Well done, we'll be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Franco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi Franco D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its good to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

interesting snack food with lots of little ideas, not big quantities and not cheap but just what we wanted for a "different" snack lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank durbin155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi durbin155,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I finally got around to trying this place today having read many great things about it on here. We popped in for a late brunch at about 11:30 and, even though it was a Monday, the place was nicely busy. It’s tucked away behind a development of early 21st century flats so just follow the signs and you’ll find it. Décor is very country kitchen but done nicely. We ordered Eggs Benedicts with coffee and then had a couple of slices of their homemade cakes for after. Food is of a very high standard and beautifully presented. What is best, though, has to be the staff. They’re incredibly friendly and welcoming and it’s a really welcome change to find service so genuinely delivered. I’ll be back again and again and want to try them for lunch next. A wonderful charity and a great feeling throughout, add this one to your list and get over here soon. You won’t be disappointed.

Thank bhunjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi bhunjan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, its wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your first visit. The staff pride themselves on giving top quality service so its good to hear that it has been recognised. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Found this place and really glad we did. What a lovely place great food and helps people with disabilities to make a difference to their world by employing them and upskilling them. So if you want great food whilst helping people to grow their life experience look this place up.

Thank brackendale2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthHiddenGem, Manager at The Hidden Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi brackendale2528,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and support our wonderful charity. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hidden Gem also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hidden Gem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing