We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury and escape”
Review of Malmaison Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Reading
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Went here with work for a celebratory dinner and we had a private room booked as well as choosing from the set menu for £30 pp for 3 courses

Each course was delivered with exceptional thought and care and was delicious, the ambience in the private room was wonderful and the service was outstanding

If you want a treat this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubellared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 916 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

You stay at Mal Reading and you experience Mal Life. We have been returning probably 3 times a year since opening. We have stayed in normal rooms, Queen rooms, Suites - The Rocket, The Ghan and GWR. Rocket is the best so far, although we were never disappointed with the standard rooms. It allows us to go and enjoy a great hotel, that is something different, with great service. One night here often feels like you have had a mini holiday.

It sounds strange but the toiletries smell divine and by taking them home and using them, it will allow you to remember what a great time you had. They actively encourage you to do so and this is a nice touch.

Yes the rooms are dark, there is only what you could call "mood lighting" so if this isn't your bag, find another hotel in Reading. The hotel is based on a steam train theme, and harks back to its days as a railway hotel in the heyday of the Great Western Railway. We have experienced noise from Revs (the club) next door but have been told that the hotel is addressing these issues and when we have complained we were moved - worth saying that in all the times we have stayed, we have only heard it once.

Pretty much always eat here, as on an offer either DBB or the spend £75 in the brasserie. The food is always good but last time was exceptional - the Iberico Ham special starter was very special. Breakfasts leave you not needing lunch - you can pretty much have what you want. Last time we stayed we did the offer where you got cocktails and breakfast at a special price as were on the £75 Brasserie offer - so ask what they have.

We are going back soon to stay in the Mallard - so will update then (apparently the bath is bigger than the Rocket - see photo!) very excited.

Room Tip: If you can try The Rocket - bath is big enough for two ;o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherylhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Have stayed here twice for a romantic night away with my husband. Its a really dark , warm away from reality hotel ! The rooms are fab and we have taken advantage of the offers both times eating in the brasserie , so the night ends up being really good value for money. Look for the offers on their website.. Reading has great shopping area and loads of bars ( although they are full of much younger people than us ! ) And thats if you can be bothered to tear yourself away from the hotel cocktail bar !!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fab40th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here on Friday evening on the £40 per room deal for a superior king plus we had to spend £75 in the restaurant. Great Deal. If you are thinking about going into to London as we were (Visiting the Leonardo Da Vinci exhibition) stay here. Car parking across the road for £10 for 24 hours. Train station 2 minutes walk away. Great way to do London, no hassle with driving in or expensive car parking charges.

Lovely welcome from the young man on Reception, very polite. Great food and good menu choice.

If you are on a special visit try the room with the train set, my husband would love to stay in that suite. One day maybe.

Would not stay anywhere else in Reading and we have visited other hotels before in the area.

Room Tip: Would suggest you ask for a room on one of the higher floors and at the back as on a Friday and Satu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuziHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Hi, I went here with a friend last year, we both felt we needed a treat. the weekend rates were great, and included breakfast and dinner. It was my second trip (first trip was with a boiyfriend nearly a year post divorce, felt I needed a bit of pampering) I really like the way they look after you, it is all the little touches and the decor. my second trip was with a friend pretty much to recall/ recreate the decor in my house.

The only downside is parking, which can be quite difficult to locate and not cheap, Lots of one way systems and even my sat nav gave up resulting to a driving ticket for going through a bus lane for 30 seconds on a saturday.
the baths are magic, the bedding exuisite and you can bring cds and dvds to watch.
The fixed menu was more than interesting and enjoyable with its options and the wine waiter was so happy to discuss the different wines and keep us company.
I would love to go back again and again, finances pretty tight but their deals are great. hoping to return in a year or so's time just for a chill. fab place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welovepeppapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,884 reviews
0.1 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,411 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.1 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Reading

Address: 18-20 Station Road, Reading RG1 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Business Hotel in Reading
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $121 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brief encounter, that fleeting glance from across the platform, a longing to be with the one you shouldn't...Meet me outside the station at this gloriously converted rail hotel. You shouldn't have this much fun so close to Heathrow, but you will at Mal. You shouldn't find a train set in your room, or a bath big enough for two, for that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Reading Hotel Reading
Malmaison Hotel Reading
Reading Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing