We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“novotel reading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Reading Centre
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
beccles
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“novotel reading”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Arrived early saturday evening, (17th March). Car park was difficult to find, and can see what people mean by tight spaces.......check in was friendly, but a little slow!!........we got allocated an 8th floor room, which was typical novotel style, and clean. however there were 2 rather large stains on the carpet ( room 806)... nice view from the room, but a bit short on hanging space for clothes though. Went down to basement to use pool and sauna. These were very clean, and had a nice ambience, really good facilities. Plenty of clean towels, and apples too...nice touch.Showers and changing facilities good too (don't forget £1 coin for lockers )
We didn't eat an evening meal in the restaurant, as we went to Nando's next door. But we came back for a drink in the bar, before retiring for the night.
Bed was very comfy, nice pillows. and we both slept well. my girlfriend used the shower ( she said was very good)..... i went to gym to do some weights, gym was small but ok, clean and tidy....had a quick blast in the steam room after, was pleasant but not hot enough billy!, ...We then went to breakfast..... happy to say this was really good!, and hot too! ( novotel london excel take note!), novotel does a late check out on sundays for free ( 5pm) so we had plenty off time to look around reading and watch the grand prix in our room....very happy!.... check out was quick and professional.... overall nice hotel , nice staff..... except cardiff, best novotel we have stayed at to date.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor if staying at weekend..... some drunken street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wizla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotel, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Many thanks for this very good and detailed review. We appreciate your feedback and are certainly taking all of it on board, We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again soon at Novotel Reading.

Kind Regards,

Antoine de Corson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    491
    170
    35
    21
See reviews for
206
312
121
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night so got an excellent deal. Hotel situated a couple of minutes walk from Reading station so great for those coming by train. Hotel was modern and very clean throughout. Reception staff were very friendly and on arrival accommodated my request for a high and quiet room, in addition they informed me of the offer to have a late check out for free (as was a Sunday) so a nice surprise!.

The room was clean, the sofa/convertible bed proved to be very comfortable for a nights sleep (in addition to the standard double bed) the bathroom was nice with a separate shower cubicle and bath and a separate toilet. A minor gripe would be to extend the toiletries available and perhaps a shaving kit/toothbrush etc (had to pay for a toothbrush). Kettle with tea/coffee making facilities was a nice addition as was the LCD TV too. The pool was a decent enough size and good changing facilities and the sauna/steam room was good too - I didn't get a look at the gym equipment.

The breakfast buffet was good (got a discount price on weekend) with a nice selection of food, fruits, breads pretty much enough to cater for everyone. I enjoyed my stay as for Reading it's mainly just shops but this hotel is worth a trip for the weekend price or a good choice to stay if you're there on business, recommended.

Room Tip: Facing away from the main street may give you a quieter room - could hear nothing in my room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotel, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you very much for this very good review. It is always a pleasure reading this kind of feedback on the hotel and the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at Novotel Reading.

Kind Regards,

Antoine de Corson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a stag weekend in January. The hotel is not easy to find if you arrive by car since the street it is on is for buses and taxis only - head for the NCP car park, park and you'll be at the back of the hotel.

Very friendly staff, great rooms and leisure facilities. Pool is great and the other leisure facilities were good as well.

The breakfast is worthwhile going for if you can get a deal as I did. The staff are fantastic and extremely helpful. The rooms have a slightly different layout to most hotels with a separate toilet and this works really well. Also meant I could watch the TV from the bath!

The main shopping area is close by and the night life outside your door - literally. It does get noisy at weekends yet the rooms are fine and if you are worried ask to be in a room on the higher floors.

Get a deal and be impressed.

Parking is in a public car park and cost £10 per day with a voucher from the hotel.

Room Tip: On a higher floor if you want total silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinf444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotel, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write this excelent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Antoine de Corson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed for a weekend in the Novotel Reading Centre. The hotel is walking distance both to the train station and the main shopping street/shopping centre. The room was spacious and very clean, the bed was very firm which was great!
My only negative comment is that there was no free wifi/internet access in the room which is unbelievable in the 21st century.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ujlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotel, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this very good feedback. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your weekend in Reading.
As regards internet, there is indeed still a charge at the moment as we have upgraded our system to get very high performance one, which is coming at a significant cost. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon at Novotel Reading.

Kind Regards,

Antoine de Corson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
984 reviews
0.4 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
970 reviews
0.3 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
507 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Property: Novotel Reading Centre
Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price range (per night): $114 - $327
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing