We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price”
Review of The Hope Tap

The Hope Tap
Ranked #231 of 675 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: USD 7 - USD 20
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A Wetherspoons pub, with a great selection of good quality and cheap ales. Food also low priced but quality is pretty dire. What can you expect for the price though? Will definitely return for drinks though.

Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p527Manager, Manager at The Hope Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

I am sorry that we didn’t get things right for you on your recent visit with regards to your food and hope you will try us again
If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to discuss with a member of our team the next time you have a drink with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018

called in late morning,very busy,didnt wait long for our lunch.i had small portion of fish and chips,which was a good size portion for under £5..will return and would recommend.good choice off food..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mags62uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p527Manager, Manager at The Hope Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We popped in here Saturday evening before setting off for our chinese but came in again Sunday morning for breakfast before returning g home. We had a lovely breakfast and was impressed with the unlimited coffee

Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p527Manager, Manager at The Hope Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Glad you enjoyed your visit. The unlimited coffee offer is very popular at £1.25

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Been here a couple of times. Good food, good selection of Beers & ciders quite a pleasant atmosphere attentive bar staff. Really can't fault it
Good value breakfast too.

Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p527Manager, Manager at The Hope Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves on our extensive range

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Very busy, large 'spoons. Food was fine and good range of beers all at usual low prices. Staff were fine and service was very good to say it was so busy. The whole of Reading town centre was mobbed though, so if want somewhere quiet, don't go to Reading

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ayupitsjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p527Manager, Manager at The Hope Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hope Tap also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Hope Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing