We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning palace with so much to see”
Review of Blenheim Palace

Blenheim Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 34.59*
and up
Blenheim Palace Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to the 12th Duke and Duchess of Marlborough and birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill,, Blenheim Palace is a masterpiece of Baroque architecture that boasts over 300 years of history to discover. This World Heritage Site is set within more than 2000 acres of Parkland landscaped by 'Capability' Brown, and the Palace itself houses some of the finest collections of antique furniture in Europe.Situated in Woodstock, just 8 miles from Oxford, Blenheim Palace is Britain's Greatest Palace and offers visitors a precious time, every time.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Blenheim Palace is truly stunning with so much to see and do. The state rooms are really beautiful and there is an interesting exhibition about Winston Churchill - Blenheim is his birthplace. Upstairs houses an interesting video presentation on the history of Blenheim and in the outbuildings there are other exhibitions also worth visiting. The gardens are huge with lovely walks and the daffodils were magnificent when we visited. Parking is easy and there are a couple of cafes serving good food. It is expensive but you can convert your ticket into an annual pass. Altogether, definitely worth visiting.

Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your most recent visit to Blenheim Palace.

We're delighted to hear you were able to visit our Churchill exhibition inside of the Palace and explore our gardens at this time of year. We're also glad to hear you converted your admission into an Annual Pass giving you free entry for a year to the Palace, Park and Gardens including events and exhibitions throughout the year. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"annual pass"
in 769 reviews
"winston churchill"
in 444 reviews
"butterfly house"
in 327 reviews
"untold story"
in 219 reviews
"day ticket"
in 166 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 210 reviews
"flower show"
in 72 reviews
"pleasure gardens"
in 267 reviews
"the secret garden"
in 106 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 58 reviews
"state rooms"
in 303 reviews
"christmas lights"
in 83 reviews
"at no extra cost"
in 66 reviews
"stately home"
in 136 reviews
"modern art"
in 102 reviews
"gift shop"
in 211 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 82 reviews
Filter

467 - 471 of 6,285 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great day out at Blenheim Palace today & lovely sunshine as well whilst exploring the gardens and park land. It was busy, but there were no queues for anything. We started by walking to see the Harry Potter tree before going on a tour of the house. Then we walked over to visit the butterfly house and managed to find the centre of the maze! Took the train back (50p ride) to the house and had lunch in the sunshine. Walked around the formal gardens after that and strolled down to the pump house, enjoying views of the lake through the trees. The daffodils were in bloom and were beautiful. At the end of the afternoon we found the Secret Garden, perked at the private Italian Garden, and trotted over to see the Roundel. We just managed to exit at 5.55pm. We need to return to see the rest spme other time. All in all a great day out, with very very helpful and welcoming staff.

Thank Shan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to Blenheim Palace.

We're delighted the sun was shining on your chosen visit date, allowing you to explore the Palace and Parkland.

We hope you will re-consider returning to Blenheim Palace and have converted your day ticket to an Annual Pass, allowing you to come back as many times as you like over the next year to discover all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon doing the Easter egg hunt even though the weather wasn't great this year. Only thing that wasn't great was our car getting stuck in the mud, but the staff was really helpful and Towed are car out of the mud. The usual parking on the grass near the Pleasure Gardens is waterlogged so if it's really busy and you can't Park in the car park near the palace I would void parking on the grass until the weather gets better.

Thank 12lorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for leaving a review following your most recent visit to Blenheim Palace.

We're delighted to hear you joined our Easter Egg hunt in the Formal Gardens despite the weather. We will ensure your positive comments are passed onto the staff working in the car park during this time.

We hope to welcome you back soon to continue exploring all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Had a walk around the great lake before lunch in the town. Weather was actually quite good and it was a lovely spring day. It really is a lovely park and we know, from having lived in Woodstock, that there are many paths around the whole of the park. Choose a fine day, wear comfortable shoes, take a picnic and enjoy!

Thank Brenda_Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed walking around the Great Lake and exploring all we have to offer here at Blenheim Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Watch some of the documentaries about Blenheim before going, it will help you appreciate the stunning palace even more. Blenheim has been home for Consuelo Vanderbilt, Gladys Deacon and Winston Churchill. The paintings and interiors are incredible. You can visit Harry Potter's Whomping Willow and the farm at the hill. I really enjoyed the gardens and fountains. We also booked two tours of the Duke's private quarters, one to explore the downstairs of the palace and the second one which takes you to the current Duke's home- definitely worth the price.

Thank PamelaRogers1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed exploring both inside the Palace and our parkland and chose to experience two of our additional tours.

We hope to welcome you back soon to continue discovering all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blenheim Palace also viewed

 
Upper Heyford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Blenheim Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing