We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out!”
Review of Blenheim Palace

Blenheim Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 62.93*
and up
Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from Oxford
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to the 12th Duke and Duchess of Marlborough and birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill,, Blenheim Palace is a masterpiece of Baroque architecture that boasts over 300 years of history to discover. This World Heritage Site is set within more than 2000 acres of Parkland landscaped by 'Capability' Brown, and the Palace itself houses some of the finest collections of antique furniture in Europe.Situated in Woodstock, just 8 miles from Oxford, Blenheim Palace is Britain's Greatest Palace and offers visitors a precious time, every time.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great day out at Blenheim Palace today & lovely sunshine as well whilst exploring the gardens and park land. It was busy, but there were no queues for anything. We started by walking to see the Harry Potter tree before going on a tour of the house. Then we walked over to visit the butterfly house and managed to find the centre of the maze! Took the train back (50p ride) to the house and had lunch in the sunshine. Walked around the formal gardens after that and strolled down to the pump house, enjoying views of the lake through the trees. The daffodils were in bloom and were beautiful. At the end of the afternoon we found the Secret Garden, perked at the private Italian Garden, and trotted over to see the Roundel. We just managed to exit at 5.55pm. We need to return to see the rest spme other time. All in all a great day out, with very very helpful and welcoming staff.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 33shanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to Blenheim Palace.

We're delighted the sun was shining on your chosen visit date, allowing you to explore the Palace and Parkland.

We hope you will re-consider returning to Blenheim Palace and have converted your day ticket to an Annual Pass, allowing you to come back as many times as you like over the next year to discover all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"annual pass"
in 822 reviews
"winston churchill"
in 470 reviews
"butterfly house"
in 337 reviews
"untold story"
in 227 reviews
"day ticket"
in 171 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 222 reviews
"flower show"
in 74 reviews
"the secret garden"
in 110 reviews
"christmas lights"
in 117 reviews
"pleasure gardens"
in 276 reviews
"state rooms"
in 318 reviews
"at no extra cost"
in 68 reviews
"stately home"
in 137 reviews
"modern art"
in 109 reviews
"gift shop"
in 232 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 86 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 163 reviews
Filter

827 - 831 of 6,657 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon doing the Easter egg hunt even though the weather wasn't great this year. Only thing that wasn't great was our car getting stuck in the mud, but the staff was really helpful and Towed are car out of the mud. The usual parking on the grass near the Pleasure Gardens is waterlogged so if it's really busy and you can't Park in the car park near the palace I would void parking on the grass until the weather gets better.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 12lorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for leaving a review following your most recent visit to Blenheim Palace.

We're delighted to hear you joined our Easter Egg hunt in the Formal Gardens despite the weather. We will ensure your positive comments are passed onto the staff working in the car park during this time.

We hope to welcome you back soon to continue exploring all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Had a walk around the great lake before lunch in the town. Weather was actually quite good and it was a lovely spring day. It really is a lovely park and we know, from having lived in Woodstock, that there are many paths around the whole of the park. Choose a fine day, wear comfortable shoes, take a picnic and enjoy!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Brenda_Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed walking around the Great Lake and exploring all we have to offer here at Blenheim Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Watch some of the documentaries about Blenheim before going, it will help you appreciate the stunning palace even more. Blenheim has been home for Consuelo Vanderbilt, Gladys Deacon and Winston Churchill. The paintings and interiors are incredible. You can visit Harry Potter's Whomping Willow and the farm at the hill. I really enjoyed the gardens and fountains. We also booked two tours of the Duke's private quarters, one to explore the downstairs of the palace and the second one which takes you to the current Duke's home- definitely worth the price.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank PamelaRogers1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed exploring both inside the Palace and our parkland and chose to experience two of our additional tours.

We hope to welcome you back soon to continue discovering all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

£26.00 does seem quite an expensive entry fee, but this includes an annual pass, which is fantastic value if you live in the vicinity. I found myself taking my daughter there again and again because there is so much to do: You can walk in the stunning parkland and gardens, tour the house, and visit the restaurants and cafes. For kids, there is a miniature train, a maze, several play areas and a lovely butterfly house. You can literally spend all day there and take a picnic if you don't want to eat in the cafes. On top of this, they have many events through the year, many of which are free.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlenheimPalace1, Marketing Asssistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to Blenheim Palace.

We're delighted to hear you are one of our annual pass holders and enjoy visiting regularly to enjoy all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blenheim Palace also viewed

 

Been to Blenheim Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing