We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore Oxford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeside Guest House
Ranked #19 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is the second time that we have stayed at this guest house. Our room on this stay (in December) was warm, comfortable, clean and tidy. Well appointed shower room. Good choice of breakfast which is served in the sunny breakfast room. Good base to explore Oxford; the guest house is a short 15 minute walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boho68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The attic room was quaint, cosy and comfortable. It was a huge bonus that I could park my car at Lakeside & walk into the city centre as parking in the city is difficult & expensive. My only negative comment is that my private bathroom was on the floor below my bedroom.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was a great location; just 15 minutes stroll into Oxford. the guesthouse is modern yet homely and spotlessly clean - with lovely touches such as DVDs to watch after an exhausting day sightseeing. The breakfasts were lovely and the owners so friendly too. We would highly recommend Lakeside and will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieSteve89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I've stayed in two different rooms. Both were sparkling clean, very nice and well organized. Breakfast was excellent. WiFi was fast and reliable. Ok, rooms appeared quite small to me. But I'm Canadian, so I guess I can't serve as a reference. Walk to the center of Oxford takes less than 15 minutes.

Only minor complain I have is that WiFi it doesn't cover the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pao11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed with our 9 and 11 year old children in a large family room. The room was quiet and overlooked a park. It is an easy walk into oxford and the car park is tight but very convenient. Breakfast was great and nice to have fresh fruit available.
The Pitt Rivers Museum was a big hit with our children- tucked at the back of the Natural History museum but FULL of fascinating objects arranged in themes. We visited late one afternoon and returned the next morning for a few hours as it was so interesting.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ML501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,825 reviews
1.3 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
4.9 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
720 reviews
1.4 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
714 reviews
1.3 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Oxford

Been to Lakeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Guest House

Address: 118 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $140 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing