We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mairi M
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I spent 6 months at Folly Bridge House, 3 months in Studio Borago and 3 months in Studio Melissa. Both were lovely well equipped rooms although Borago is rather on the small side and the shared bathrooms are compact. The location could not be better, right next to the river and the Christ Church grounds which are delightful to walk around. It is very central and as Oxford is not the largest place I found everything to be within walking distance, in my 6 months there I never had the need to take a bus or drive.There is a Tesco minutes away and the train station is only a 20 minute walk. All in all I enjoyed my stay at Folly Bridge House, particularly my time in Studio Melissa and would highly recommend it if visiting Oxford.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful riverside location in central Oxford”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I can only echo previous reviews of Folly Bridge House. It is a delightful place from which to explore Oxford and being next to the Thames it is easy to have a daily river walk as well as being just a 10 min stroll into the centre of town. The rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped with the basics needed for cooking. The wifi works well as does the heating (I stayed for 8 weeks in winter). If you are in an ensuite room, the shower room is tiny, but the water pressure is good as is the extraction system. It is a lovely and quiet location for anyone that needs to study/work while there. Helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kpo822
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Folly Bridge House is, quite simply, an excellent place to stay in Oxford.

It is in a great location, with a Tesco metro a block and a half away, and the town centre a 10 minute walk. Many buses, including buses to London, are a 5 minute walk away. And it is only a 20 minute walk to the train (or a taxi that costs £5-6). The house can be a little difficult for taxis to get in and out of as the driveway opens directly on to a moderately busy road/bridge, with little to no spare room to pull to the side. They can go down the driveway to the parking spaces out the front of the house, but if the carpark is full, it can be difficult for them to turn around to get out again. If you are arriving from the train and are happy to carry your luggage a hundred or so metres down the road, I’d suggest asking the driver to pull in to the driveway of The Head of the River pub, which is across the road and at the start of the bridge you need to walk along.

The photos on the website don’t tend to show this but there is good storage. Rooms have a wardrobe that also contains shelves and/or drawers, and there are a good number of solid clothes hangers. The kitchens are tastefully stocked, with good cutlery and crockery. There is free use of a clothes washing machine and good clothes racks in each room. A dryer is also available (pay per use, with proceeds going to an environmental charity).

The spaces are well thought out and I found it very comfortable to stay for a total of 3 months. I moved between three different rooms (as I hadn’t committed to the whole time at the start of my stay) and enjoyed each of the rooms I stayed in. Two had their own bathroom and one shared a bathroom with one other room. The bathrooms that are in the rooms (ie. not shared) are small but well designed. My 6’5” tall partner stayed for a few weeks and he coped with the bathrooms just fine. However if someone was very wide, it may become a bit of a squeeze.

To summarise, I highly recommend Folly Bridge House. It is central yet quiet, and has a peace that comes from overlooking the river from every room. It has an uncontrived style, is clean and well maintained, yet not sterile. Michelle, the very capable manager, is friendly yet professional, welcoming, and nothing is a problem. Both Michelle and the property’s owner were easy to contact and quick to follow up on any question or concern.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susiemore...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Oxford”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We celebrated my birthday in Studio Papaver, with its beautiful crenellated balcony overlooking the Thames. This is a very special place to stay, and you can see that the owners have put a great deal of thought and effort into preparing each studio flat (I looked at several of them). The location is fantastic in terms of convenience and surroundings. It is very comfortable, and you can cook a simple meal or just step downstairs to a riverside restaurant (a minute away) or pub (3 minutes away). I can't think of anywhere better to stay if you have several days in Oxford, as it works out great value for money, especially for a couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy P
Stoughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, superb hospitality, great Views, comfortable & relaxing perfect for a break/”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Who could have thought in the heart of a town Oxford you could find such a haven, breakfast on a rampart style balcony? So peaceful and quiet looking over water watching boats and ducks.
My stay was so relaxing and enjoyable with everything catered for. Also a very comfortable bed.
Drinks on the ram-parted roof top with the most magnificent view. a complete panorama of the Oxford city of spires
The combination of a superb central location, hospitality yet complete independence, breakfast when ever you like, all the facilities nearby and restaurant on your doorstep on the river, I dined there with a large party .
All in all I can thoroughly recommend .studio Papaver.

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing