We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Bakehouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
han324
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We have just returned from a fabulous four day stay at the old bakehouse and neither of us wanted to leave. The bakehouse has been lovingly restored to an exceptionally high and thoughtful standard and is well equipped, so we spent many nights cooking and in front of the fire. Similarly Stonesfield is close enough to visit other villages and has a good pub so if eating out is preferred you will not be disappointed. The surrounding area is beautiful and we enjoyed many lovely muddy walks and the view of a snowy garden in the morning was magical. We absolutely loved our stay at the bakehouse and also meeting Ros and we cannot wait to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stepjanye
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from Home��”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We couldn't fault it at all. decor, cleanest, scones jam & cream on arrival. We didn't want to leave and would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P
Long Island, New York
1 review
“Story Book Cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

You will not be disappointed... From the lovely setting and local villages to the complete cottage experience, it was everything I could have wished for. An added beneift is the lovely lady, Ros, who owns the property. She truly cares for her tenents and goes above and beyond. Not only did I love the Old Bakehouse, but feel I made a friend there too! Thanks Ros, for all you did to make us feel welcome, and for all the lovely touches! I hope to see you again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mipsy B
1 review
“Spotless. Well equipped. Beautiful location.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a week with our children - 5 years and 11 years. We were warmly welcomed by Ros, who showed us round and made us feel at home, and wow - the cream tea on arrival was perfect! The accomodation was so clean and extremely well equipped with kitchen items and towels. Ros also supplied useful items such as dishwasher tabs, kitchen roll, clingfilm - the kind of bits you're normally expected to take to a self-catering place but (we) normally forget to pack. Plenty of games and books to keep us busy on rainy days sat around the woodburner. Lovely comfy beds and we all slept brilliantly. The area is lovely and peaceful with lots to see and do, and Oxford is a short drive away - use the park and ride. We recommend the Stonesfield circular walk, a nice hour-long stroll through the countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: No directions given prior to departure, although not hard to find using map/satnav
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslaWhite
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Old Bakehouse is bright, clean and extremely comfortable. Beautifully decorated throughout with a well-equipped kitchen and good Wi-Fi. We had a lovely week there and hope to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing