We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,396)
Filter reviews
3,396 results
Traveller rating
1,469
1,053
508
240
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,469
1,053
508
240
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews converted prison cell rooms roll top bath unique hotel cell block exercise yard original cells superior cell sunday stopover main prison pizza express porridge birthday treat continental breakfast car parking stayed for one night city centre
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 3,396 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Had birthday treat stay over. Funky rooms being in a cell . Hotel was fabulous. Disappointed with the bar service although they did reduce our drink food bill a little to compensate.
Definitely worth staying very central and just across the road to Westgate shopping centre. The breakfast club is a must on the shopping centre top floor

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Eagle6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Eagle6869,

Thank You for taking the time to write a review.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your birthday with us at Malmaison Oxford and you found the room to be funky and the hotel fabulous.

We very sorry that on this occasion the service at the bar wasn't of our usual standard and we hope this will not influence your returning in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kasey Watson
Brassiere Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

It is always interesting when you find an unusual hotel to stay in, something fun and a bit quirky and that is exactly what Malmaison Oxford offered - the chance to stay in an old prison. My husband and I booked a 2-night stay, staying in one of the cell rooms, cell 101, in A-Wing in the main building. Our room was made up of 3 of the old cells, the bedroom in 2 cells and the bathroom taking up part of the third cell. The room was spacious and had high up windows and the original cell door, plus lots of quirky features to make it feel like a prison cells. The bed was comfortable and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom had a large rain-head shower and a nice selection of toiletries. Our room was also near the "original cell", so you could see what the cells had looked like when it was still a working prison. We had a wander around the hotel and it was a fantastic place and we were so pleased that we had stayed there. We had a bed, breakfast and dinner package for our stay. The breakfast was continental or cooked breakfast. The continental breakfast included a big range of cereals, including homemade granola (which was delicious) and muesli, plus homemade vanilla yogurt. There was a nice selection for the cooked breakfast, which was freshly cooked and brought to the table. The evening meal was also very good, with a nice selection of dishes, which were well cooked and very tasty. We did have a slight problem with breakfast on the first morning, but the manager quickly sorted this and looked after us personally afterwards. In fact, all the staff were very pleasant. The hotel is also very central in Oxford, so we left our car at the hotel and went sightseeing on foot. It was only a short walk of about 10 minutes until you reached the Radcliffe Camera, Bodleian Library and the various Oxford University colleges. If shopping is important, then there is a big shopping centre, Westgate, almost next door. We had a fantastic weekend away in Oxford and were so pleased that we found this unusual, but high quality hotel to stay in.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank chrissylenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Chrissy,

Thank you very much for your review.
It is very nice that you enjoyed your 2-night stay with us in one of our cells.

We pride ourselves on our unique rooms and appreciate that you found them as fascinating as we do!

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kasey Watson
Bar and Brasserie Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My partner booked this for my birthday and it was absolutely fantastic. Our room which was in the main body of the hotel was made up of 3 original cells! They have retained some original features which we really liked. The room and bathroom are extremely nice as is the hotel itself. We didn’t have dinner but we did have breakfast which was okay.
Fantastic location to explore Oxford.
We would definitely recommend

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 774hollyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Holly,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us, and were able to stay in one of the A-wing rooms!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kasey Watson
Bar and Brasserie Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The staff who helped with the initial enquiry were very helpful and friendly. They made space for all 16 of us in an alcove for a celebratory lunch.

Service was exceptional and the food selection and quality was of a very high quality.

There were a couple of extra nice touches for example; an Easter egg for everybody, the chef came out to welcome us on arrival and they put out extra beef and Yorkshire puddings for the more hungry amongst us.

Overall it was an excellent place for our celebration.

Thanks, we will be back.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Dean J,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your celebration lunch with us, and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to both our events team and to Sean who was looking after you on Sunday!

Kind regards,

Kasey Watson
Bar and Brasserie Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We booked a night as a special offer via the website, dinner, bed and breakfast including a glass of prosecco. Our room was in the house of correction annexe. Very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Decent filter coffee and a great shower. We really enjoyed dinner at the hotel. The set menu was included however we upgraded to a la carte. Continental breakfast was plentiful and delicious, with excellent choices, especially the fresh fruit and yogurts. The standout part of our stay was the quality of the staff. From check in through to the housekeeping team all were friendly and polite. Casey who was in charge of the restaurant was exceptional and this added to our stay. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank snowboardgirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear snowboardgirl2015,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to see that you loved your stay with us, and the bedroom in Houses of Correction. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed both dinner and breakfast with us, and the Brasserie team and myself are would like to thank you for your feedback!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Kasey Watson
Bar and Brasserie Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews