We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Three Goats Heads

Three Goats Heads
Ranked #171 of 713 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Went here several times during our weekend in Oxford best value pub in town. The beer selection was fab and the upstairs bar was so full of character and characters. The food was good honest fair pies fish and chips lasagne burgers. The pies we had were amazing and John the chef did us Cheesey mash..... go and enjoy this great little gem in Oxford.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kah1019, Manager at Three Goats Heads, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Richard. Thank you very much for your review! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our hospitality. Please visit us again when you are in Oxford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2018

Take it easy. Chillax. My hipster beard is growing, so not sure this pub for me. Lovely building - Queen Victoria would be seen here. Kind service and food looks fine tasting. But beer is dull - like bad tea, and Sam Smith pubs stuck with it we guess. Shame, but all is good.

Thank 34Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kah1019, Manager at Three Goats Heads, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that Samuel Smiths is not to your taste. Please visit again and try other product we have as most do find a Samuel Smith product that they like. We always strive to give the best service we can. And out pub is in quite a spectacular building. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

The new beef& stilton pie was very good complemented by a warming fruit crumble.Once again the Cask Bitter was excellent

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WoodDeepthought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Happened across this pub, up a few steps, on a very cold night. Delicious pie and mash and a pint of real ale. The proprietors are very welcoming.

Thank underwhelmed2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kah1019, Manager at Three Goats Heads, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your review. Please return soon and try our new menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

This pub is on Trip Advisor twice; The Three Goats Heads and Three Goats heads. It is situated off a busy shopping street. It is small and quiet, which is perfect to escape.
I like the choice of ale and food. It definitely gets busier at lunch time.
Staff friendly and chatty. I think that they will be updating their till soon as it seemed to be something made in the 1970's but let this put you off visiting if the technology has not reached this gem.
It's a bar with pub food. The cellar bar is open at night.
No music was playing which suited this bar.
I had a steak and Ale pie which was really good, although the veg was not. Smooth mash and gravy was awesome.

Thank Roof J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kah1019, Manager at Three Goats Heads, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you or your review. I am glad you enjoyed our company and food. We look forwarda to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Goats Heads also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Three Goats Heads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing