We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but not for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

This is a small, simple hotel that does what it does extremely well. Spotlessly clean, attractively decorated, helpful and friendly staff. The full English breakfast was really very good too. But it cost me £250 for one night's stay. I could have stayed at the Randolph or the Malmaison for less, both of which have many more facilities (bars, restaurants, comprehensive room service etc.) That said, I booked just a couple of days before my stay so it may be that better deals are available at other times.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

We have just returned from a great couple of days in Oxford. We stayed in the Vicarage Suite at Vanbrugh House with its own private garden, huge four-poster bed and truly amazing bathroom. I have to say it is the best room we have every stayed in. The location is perfect if you want to be at the heart of the city and the staff at the hotel were excellent.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Vicarage Suite is worth the additional cost if you are looking to spoil yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Lovely room, understated, modern & luxurious...a little on the small side but it didn't bother me at all. Excellent location, just a short walk from the attractions of the city centre. Not much to say as it was a very good overall experience!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hu55Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This is an outstanding lunch venue. For a mere £11.00 for two courses you will get a brilliant lunch. The young chef is talented, producing superb, Michelin quality food, at a ridiculously low price. We eat in very good restaurants world wide and this lunch is up there with the very best. Portions are small but beutifully executed. It was a chance discovery but was breathtakingly good. The chef is a master of the understanding flavours and combinations and his seasoning and palette is outstanding. The combination of flavours and textures is of the highest order. Almost resisted writng a review as it is a small restaurant and we want to go back frequently.

The lunch menu is not extensive but for lunch, perfect. For 2 people with three courses - not two - and four large glasses of wine the bill came to less than £50.00. We've eaten at Le Manoir, Hand of Feathers, Waterside and The Fat Duck and the cuisine here is close but at a fraction of the price. We are local foodies, eat out regularly and there is no other restaurant in Oxford that can come anywhere close to the value for money relative to quality that is provided here. We will be back next weekend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Nice enough hotel but hardly 4 star.
For: great location, good breakfast, friendly staff.
against: uncomfortably hard bed, no bar, coffee satchel not replaced in room after first night.expensive but I guess you pay for location. I would not stay here again

Room Tip: Softer bed and more substantial pillows.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank traveling1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,227 reviews
0.2 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
744 reviews
3.5 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
747 reviews
4.9 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanbrugh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanbrugh House Hotel

Address: Vanburgh House 20-24 St. Michaels Street, Oxford OX1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: $241 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vanbrugh House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Vanbrugh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing