We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
500
234
80
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
234
80
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vicarage suite white company toiletries private garden complimentary mini bar trellis room lewis carroll kit kat boutique hotel listed building rainfall shower quiet side street fresh milk there is no air conditioning great central location central oxford lovely hotel breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We have just returned from a great couple of days in Oxford. We stayed in the Vicarage Suite at Vanbrugh House with its own private garden, huge four-poster bed and truly amazing bathroom. I have to say it is the best room we have every stayed in. The location is perfect if you want to be at the heart of the city and the staff at the hotel were excellent.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Vicarage Suite is worth the additional cost if you are looking to spoil yourself
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drt121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Lovely room, understated, modern & luxurious...a little on the small side but it didn't bother me at all. Excellent location, just a short walk from the attractions of the city centre. Not much to say as it was a very good overall experience!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hu55Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This is an outstanding lunch venue. For a mere £11.00 for two courses you will get a brilliant lunch. The young chef is talented, producing superb, Michelin quality food, at a ridiculously low price. We eat in very good restaurants world wide and this lunch is up there with the very best. Portions are small but beutifully executed. It was a chance discovery but was breathtakingly good. The chef is a master of the understanding flavours and combinations and his seasoning and palette is outstanding. The combination of flavours and textures is of the highest order. Almost resisted writng a review as it is a small restaurant and we want to go back frequently.

The lunch menu is not extensive but for lunch, perfect. For 2 people with three courses - not two - and four large glasses of wine the bill came to less than £50.00. We've eaten at Le Manoir, Hand of Feathers, Waterside and The Fat Duck and the cuisine here is close but at a fraction of the price. We are local foodies, eat out regularly and there is no other restaurant in Oxford that can come anywhere close to the value for money relative to quality that is provided here. We will be back next weekend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Nice enough hotel but hardly 4 star.
For: great location, good breakfast, friendly staff.
against: uncomfortably hard bed, no bar, coffee satchel not replaced in room after first night.expensive but I guess you pay for location. I would not stay here again

Room Tip: Softer bed and more substantial pillows.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank traveling1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Due to restrictions on historic structures there is no elevator in the hotel. With that one exception it is perfect. A short walk from the train station but centrally located, beautiful, comfortable rooms. Wonderful staff. I only mention the elevators because for some people like me it can be an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews