We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
500
234
80
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
234
80
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vicarage suite white company toiletries private garden complimentary mini bar trellis room lewis carroll kit kat boutique hotel listed building rainfall shower quiet side street fresh milk there is no air conditioning great central location central oxford lovely hotel breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Well located with easy access to everything Oxford has to offer. Very good staff who all try hard to make the guest feel welcome.
Although the restaurant is in the basement, the decor and lighting gave it a pleasant light ambience. Well prepared food cooked from fresh products. Excellent waiting service. Well laid out breakfasts either continental or full English.
If you are a guest who likes quiet, perhaps the bedrooms at the rear of the building are best. It is a listed building, so there is no lift and sets of stairs. Bear this in mind if you have heavy luggage or difficulties in climbing stairs.
The rooms on the top floor are tighter on space (to be expected as they are near the roof line. We had number 27 which was fine.
If we return to Oxford, the Vanbrugh will be our base again.

Room Tip: Number 27 - not the biggest room, but good for low noise.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jackbradley222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

The hotel is ideally situated: a short walk from the station and right in the heart of the city. The hotel is quite quirky with separate doors into what must have been separate houses. We stayed in a suite which was beautifully appointed with the most amazing ensuite bathroom I've ever seen!
All the staff are friendly and very helpful. A question I sent by email prior to our planned visit was answered within half an hour with further offers of help. The whole place was spotless with a really elegant feel about it.
The hotel has no private car parking, which is the main reason why we went by train. The hotel does not do ecening meals, which gives the opportunity to explore the many restaurants just a short walk away,
For those wanting a luxurious stay, aim for the Vicarage Suite. It's not inexpensive but really worth it for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Suites are very well appointed.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Clean, smart room and bathroom and good quality breakfast. Hotel very central. Staff very friendly and helpful. Not cheap, bedroom and public rooms quite small and no parking, but Oxford is an expensive city and not car friendly, so this is to be expected.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K872ZMdavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Exceptionally convenient location, almost too convenient (so close to everything we needed) - bang in the centre! Lovely, clean rooms and fantastic service, great weekend all round. Very quiet as well, despite being close to the road.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank harrystaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This warm and welcoming boutique hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the city, down a quieter side street with no through traffic. Our room was situated on the top floor (there are no lifts in the hotel) and was a good size with the most amazingly comfortable, huge bed! The bathroom was quite small with just a shower (no bath) but was perfectly adequate for our overnight stay. The mini fridge contained milk for tea and coffee and a couple of complimentary snacks which is a nice touch. The lighting in the room could do with being a bit brighter for getting ready and applying make up - although I find this a problem at the majority of hotels.
The small restaurant is tucked down the stairs in a basement level with a nice courtyard area for outside dining in warmer weather. Our breakfast was freshly cooked and was delicious.
There isn’t any parking at the hotel but after dropping off our luggage we parked in a road north of the centre which was free from 1.00 on a Saturday and all day on a Sunday so was perfect for us, and it was just a 10 to 15 minute walk back into the centre. The hotel is so ideally located that we didn’t need our car until we left anyway.
We regularly visit our son in Oxford and would definitely choose to stay at the Vanbrugh again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews