We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for a longer stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Euro Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Euro Bar
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for a longer stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The location is great next to the bus station, but that there is not much more positive to say. Hotel´s Sound isolation is not good, at least my bed was really old and uncomfortable. In addition the free WIFI did not work and TV signal was poor. If you need a room for a one night, this is a reasonable choice for a quite low price, but definitely not for a longer stay.

Room Tip: As high floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    37
    18
    53
See reviews for
20
27
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My room was directly above Oxford's central bus station. There were coaches going in and out until 4-5am (I didn't get to sleep until then on the first night). If you need quiet for sleep then either bring earplugs or steer clear!

The room itself was well appointed and large. The bed was very comfortable, and the room and all the furnishings were clean. The corridors outside the room however were very grubby and smelled of urinal cakes.

The staff were generally friendly, if disinterested. The breakfast was cheap and microwaved.

Room Tip: Inside rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed with 2 friends for a Saturday night on a leisure trip. We knew beforehand that we're not going to spend much time in the room. And that was just as well.

The Internet pictures show tidy rooms in B&B - the rooms are located above pub, and have already seen better days. Rooms are basic, all street noise can be heard inside windows open or closed. Bathroom was the worst, and I don't think any of us have been showering so quick before.

Since the rooms are located in an old house, the way from the pub to the rooms is a bit of a maze. WIth the room key there is also another access directly from the street, and this is the only entrance once the pub is closed - make sure you have your key with.

I wouldn't recommend Euro Bar. The room rate is way too high compared to what they offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed one Thursday night on a quick university-related trip. I needed cheap and location. I got both plus more than I expected.

This place is within a few pounds of the cheapest non-hostel lodging in Oxford.

This place is within yards of the bus station.

This place is surprisingly quiet. Well, my interior room on the top floor was. The bottom floor is a bar next to a bus station; I wouldn't count on every room being quiet.

My room was simple but clean. Adjacent loo ditto. TV was rubbish, but WiFi was fast enough for iPlayer.

Staff were courteous and helpful checking me in.

In short: more than I expected for less than I expected. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Decided to have a night out in Oxford with friends that I hadn't seen for a while. Having lived in and around Oxford for the best part of 4 years, I was slightly surprised when a friend mentioned this particular establishment as I'd never heard of it. As it turns out all the other places were booked up, so it was a case of this or other more expensive places. At £70 a night I was expecting much better. The Premier Inn for example would have been much better.

I was greeted on arrival in a dingy bar by a man who spoke little English and even though this wasn't really an issue confessed he had only been learning English a month since he had arrived, fair enough, but should he really be welcoming guests?

All in all there was no great fault to the place, it was fine, but not value for money. You seemed to be paying for the location, which fair enough is smack in the centre of the city (next to the bus station). But I know for a fact that a taxi back to the Premier Inn from city centre is about £10, so it's not really any cheaper to stay in the city.

If you're used to university life and need something in the centre, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wardms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 km away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.4 km away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#37 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.4 km away
Tower House
Tower House
#20 of 83 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 km away
The Buttery Hotel
The Buttery Hotel
#23 of 83 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Bar

Property: Euro Bar
Address: 48 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price range (per night): $115 - $171
Hotel Class:3 star — Euro Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euro Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Bar Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing