We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel, but pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good business hotel, but pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hotel in downtown Oxford. Clean and good-sized (by UK standards) rooms with good overall standard. Fairly expensive though, and no free wifi. In addition, breakfast was expensive and of average standrda, not worth the money. Overall a good hotel, but not quite worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    422
    262
    76
    44
See reviews for
169
419
102
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, very close to everything. Unfortunately, hotel very difficult to find with a car and hotel parking very expensive (£13.50 per day). Had to consistently ask for information from reception that should have been forthcoming (eg, re breakfast times); room adequate, clean and comfortable. Wi-fi expensive - Mercure hotels need to understand that travelers need access and high wi-fi charges aren't acceptable anymore.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lib M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is central to Oxford High Street and has it's own secure parking, albeit a very narrow entrance through the actual walls of the hotel! Worth £15 a night for the convenience and peace of mind.
Very welcoming & professional reception staff based in an attractively decorated area with plenty of seating. Our room on the second floor looked out over the rear with views of the church, it was very comfortable, inviting and large very clean bathroom with plenty of toiletries and fluffy towels.
We had a cocktail in the tranquil bar lounge before going out for the evening, again good service from the bar staff.
Great night's sleep, very quiet location even though the hotel is just off the main road. Breakfast is sunny restaurant where we could choose where we wanted to sit. Lovely staff, friendly & efficient. Good cold buffet selection and cooked to order hot choice, we recommend the scrambled eggs and the eggs benedict were perfect.
Check out is at noon, so we had plenty of time for a stroll along the high street and a bit of tourist shopping.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was just the sort of civilised recovery zone that we needed, after a very busy day moving our son from Eastbourne to Oxford, loading and unloading furniture & going up and down many flights of stairs!
Looking forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerkyGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were saying 2 nights, the hotel was by no means full and they said the rooms had been pre-allocated so it was upsetting to be allocated hopefully the only room with a wall for the view ! Our party had 6 rooms so we had chance to compare. OK so they changed the room to a bigger one with a view of the carpark at the rear when we complained but surely, unless the hotel is full you allocate guests to the best rooms available not the worst!!! The best situated rooms have bay windows overlooking Merton college across the lane
Other gripes were the car park where the expensive valet service requires the keys to be left with reception and reception to be able to find them again in a reasonable time when you need something from the car. For some reason ours were always in the wrong place. There's a tight turn into the narrow car park entrance so dont try to get your camper van or limo in there or you'll get jammed - literally!
On the positive side its handy to be able to park close to the city centre and the charge whilst steep isnt outrageous (£15 per 24 hours) .
We enjoyed dinner in the hotel and the menu was fine as was the wine. The service in the bar was speedy and attentive and breakfast had plenty of choice. The rooms were quiet .
I'd have liked complimentary water in the room at the price.
As regards location it's ideally situated for the colleges and the shops as well as near the Cherwell for punting in the rain! we took the open topped bus for an intial look at most of the 32 or so individual colleges and faculties that make up the university.
Overall, just about worth the money

Room Tip: *212*!!! You have been warned! Rooms overlooking the car park are sunny and comfortable but try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpinahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Although the rooms are fine, this hotel is definitely not worth the money they charge. To add insult to injury they charge 15 pounds for the carpark without informing the guests. I asked the man at the desk when I checked in whether it was ok to park the car only to find out that I was being charged 15 pounds extra on check out. Apalling to not inform the guests in advance. When I questioned this practice the staff were arrogant and unhelpful, saying, 'it is clearly stated.' Surely guests expect car park charges to be part of the room fee? Won't be staying here again and would advise others not to. I have never experienced a hotel charging a car park fee for paying guests.They are obviously exploiting guests due to the lack of parking in central Oxford. I find this to be an unethical business practice. On a six day road trip this hotel came out as the worst value for money and with the most unhelpful and rude staff. The room was no better than average but for the money I expect better. This is an expensive hotel which provides a worse service than some at half the price.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms, which are very expensive, overlook the car park. The rooms that overlook the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.7 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.3 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Property: Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price range (per night): $207 - $479
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing