We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Nearby Hotels
Royal Oxford Hotel(Oxford)
USD 148*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 224*
USD 210*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 370*
Old Bank Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 320*
USD 298*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 367*
USD 352*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 455*
USD 403*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 139*
USD 117*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 166*
USD 161*
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
USD 109*
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
USD 45*
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveller rating
280
463
283
87
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
463
283
87
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetcar parkprivilege roomexamination schoolsmarco pierre whitemerton collegeold buildingcentral locationthird floorper dayexcellent locationeggs benedictwithin easy walking distanceon site parkingbreakfast was excellenttwo night stayno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
807 - 812 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent location, very close to everything. Unfortunately, hotel very difficult to find with a car and hotel parking very expensive (£13.50 per day). Had to consistently ask for information from reception that should have been forthcoming (eg, re breakfast times); room adequate, clean and comfortable. Wi-fi expensive - Mercure hotels need to understand that travelers need access and high wi-fi charges aren't acceptable anymore.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Lib M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is central to Oxford High Street and has it's own secure parking, albeit a very narrow entrance through the actual walls of the hotel! Worth £15 a night for the convenience and peace of mind.
Very welcoming & professional reception staff based in an attractively decorated area with plenty of seating. Our room on the second floor looked out over the rear with views of the church, it was very comfortable, inviting and large very clean bathroom with plenty of toiletries and fluffy towels.
We had a cocktail in the tranquil bar lounge before going out for the evening, again good service from the bar staff.
Great night's sleep, very quiet location even though the hotel is just off the main road. Breakfast is sunny restaurant where we could choose where we wanted to sit. Lovely staff, friendly & efficient. Good cold buffet selection and cooked to order hot choice, we recommend the scrambled eggs and the eggs benedict were perfect.
Check out is at noon, so we had plenty of time for a stroll along the high street and a bit of tourist shopping.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was just the sort of civilised recovery zone that we needed, after a very busy day moving our son from Eastbourne to Oxford, loading and unloading furniture & going up and down many flights of stairs!
Looking forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerkyGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were saying 2 nights, the hotel was by no means full and they said the rooms had been pre-allocated so it was upsetting to be allocated hopefully the only room with a wall for the view ! Our party had 6 rooms so we had chance to compare. OK so they changed the room to a bigger one with a view of the carpark at the rear when we complained but surely, unless the hotel is full you allocate guests to the best rooms available not the worst!!! The best situated rooms have bay windows overlooking Merton college across the lane
Other gripes were the car park where the expensive valet service requires the keys to be left with reception and reception to be able to find them again in a reasonable time when you need something from the car. For some reason ours were always in the wrong place. There's a tight turn into the narrow car park entrance so dont try to get your camper van or limo in there or you'll get jammed - literally!
On the positive side its handy to be able to park close to the city centre and the charge whilst steep isnt outrageous (£15 per 24 hours) .
We enjoyed dinner in the hotel and the menu was fine as was the wine. The service in the bar was speedy and attentive and breakfast had plenty of choice. The rooms were quiet .
I'd have liked complimentary water in the room at the price.
As regards location it's ideally situated for the colleges and the shops as well as near the Cherwell for punting in the rain! we took the open topped bus for an intial look at most of the 32 or so individual colleges and faculties that make up the university.
Overall, just about worth the money

Room Tip: *212*!!! You have been warned! Rooms overlooking the car park are sunny and comfortable but try for one at the front looking across the lane towards the college.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpinahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Although the rooms are fine, this hotel is definitely not worth the money they charge. To add insult to injury they charge 15 pounds for the carpark without informing the guests. I asked the man at the desk when I checked in whether it was ok to park the car only to find out that I was being charged 15 pounds extra on check out. Apalling to not inform the guests in advance. When I questioned this practice the staff were arrogant and unhelpful, saying, 'it is clearly stated.' Surely guests expect car park charges to be part of the room fee? Won't be staying here again and would advise others not to. I have never experienced a hotel charging a car park fee for paying guests.They are obviously exploiting guests due to the lack of parking in central Oxford. I find this to be an unethical business practice. On a six day road trip this hotel came out as the worst value for money and with the most unhelpful and rude staff. The room was no better than average but for the money I expect better. This is an expensive hotel which provides a worse service than some at half the price.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms, which are very expensive, overlook the car park. The rooms that overlook the street will undoubtedly be even more expensive.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is very nice and cozy. The decoration is classic but modern in a way. In addition the location is nice with its locaiton just inside small street next to the main road so no noise from the main streeet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khuankaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews