We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and comfortable stay at Hawkwell” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawkwell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable stay at Hawkwell”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our stay was only for one night but our experience was very positive. The hotel reception is friendly and run very efficiently - check-in was exceptionally quick. Our standard room was spacious and very comfortable and clean. Plenty of room to hang clothes and a comfy sofa to relax on instead of having to lie on the bed. Bathroom was spotless with a good size bath tub with a nice strong shower over it. Sound proofing in the rooms is really good you cannot hear people in neighbouring rooms (although I did wake up quite early when the linen truck made a morning delivery at the front of the hotel). A delicious breakfast was served in a large, bright dining room. Service was very friendly and efficient and there is a wide selection of cooked and continental foods available. All in all a very high standard of service and food at this calm and comfortable hotel. Would definitely stay there if we find ourselves in Oxford again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    369
    161
    71
    32
See reviews for
162
422
31
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just come back from a weekend at the Hawkwell Hotel for our wedding anniversary.
My husband mentioned the occasion when confirming the booking and, as a result I think, we were given a particularly lovely room for the 2 nights. I couldn't fault it.
There was a wedding on the Saturday, which I feared may cause some disturbance during the evening, but all was quiet.
Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice.
We walked into Oxford on saturday morning, via Iffley Lock, 5 mins from the hotel. The whole walk took approx 45 mins, and was very pleasant. We took a bike tour of the city with Bainton Bikes, which I have reviewed separately, followed by afternoon tea at the Randolph Hotel. Wonderful.
A lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Visited for The killing game murder mystery evening. and to celebrate my 60th birthday.
Great hotel. Lovely clean comfortable room. Very helpfull, cheerfull staff. We all had a fabulous weekend.
There was nine of us and every one of us would stay there again .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemarieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at Hawkwell, the staff were very attentive and we had a lovely room to the rear of the hotel. We walked into Oxford itself along the Thames which was a lovely way to enter the historic city!.
We did not eat at the hotel itself but found a lovely pub just a few minutes walk away called the Prince of Wales, great food and lovely staff.
When we come back to Oxford we will stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We visited and stayed at the Hawkwell House Hotel in connection with a social event hosted by our accountants (Oxfordshire-based Inca Accounting). We enjoyed a splendid meal, convivial company and a comfortable and nicely appointed room. Every aspect of the experience was quietly efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.2 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.2 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
2.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
3.0 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.7 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Property: Hawkwell House Hotel
Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price range (per night): $138 - $283
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 saw an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TVs with Sky HD, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing