We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable stay at Hawkwell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our stay was only for one night but our experience was very positive. The hotel reception is friendly and run very efficiently - check-in was exceptionally quick. Our standard room was spacious and very comfortable and clean. Plenty of room to hang clothes and a comfy sofa to relax on instead of having to lie on the bed. Bathroom was spotless with a good size bath tub with a nice strong shower over it. Sound proofing in the rooms is really good you cannot hear people in neighbouring rooms (although I did wake up quite early when the linen truck made a morning delivery at the front of the hotel). A delicious breakfast was served in a large, bright dining room. Service was very friendly and efficient and there is a wide selection of cooked and continental foods available. All in all a very high standard of service and food at this calm and comfortable hotel. Would definitely stay there if we find ourselves in Oxford again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 785 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just come back from a weekend at the Hawkwell Hotel for our wedding anniversary.
My husband mentioned the occasion when confirming the booking and, as a result I think, we were given a particularly lovely room for the 2 nights. I couldn't fault it.
There was a wedding on the Saturday, which I feared may cause some disturbance during the evening, but all was quiet.
Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice.
We walked into Oxford on saturday morning, via Iffley Lock, 5 mins from the hotel. The whole walk took approx 45 mins, and was very pleasant. We took a bike tour of the city with Bainton Bikes, which I have reviewed separately, followed by afternoon tea at the Randolph Hotel. Wonderful.
A lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Visited for The killing game murder mystery evening. and to celebrate my 60th birthday.
Great hotel. Lovely clean comfortable room. Very helpfull, cheerfull staff. We all had a fabulous weekend.
There was nine of us and every one of us would stay there again .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annemarieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at Hawkwell, the staff were very attentive and we had a lovely room to the rear of the hotel. We walked into Oxford itself along the Thames which was a lovely way to enter the historic city!.
We did not eat at the hotel itself but found a lovely pub just a few minutes walk away called the Prince of Wales, great food and lovely staff.
When we come back to Oxford we will stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We visited and stayed at the Hawkwell House Hotel in connection with a social event hosted by our accountants (Oxfordshire-based Inca Accounting). We enjoyed a splendid meal, convivial company and a comfortable and nicely appointed room. Every aspect of the experience was quietly efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.6 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 45 in Oxford
1,916 reviews
6.4 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 45 in Oxford
690 reviews
3.2 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
2.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: AU$143 - AU$296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two magnificent manor houses dating back to the 19th century, Hawkwell blends tranquillity with contemporary elegance, making it the perfect venue for leisure, business, events & weddings. With availability for exclusive use and utter privacy for up to 150 guests, Hawkwell House and its grounds offers one of Oxford’s most picture perfect settings. Located in the quaint village of Iffley - just 2 miles from the historic city of Oxford and just a stone’s throw from the river Thames – here is where you will be met with the splendour of this setting. Situated in 3 acres of private gardens and steeped in history with seamlessly blending character with contemporary design, the hotel’s 77 bedrooms have been carefully designed to make you feel relaxed, comfortable and surrounded in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing